about third level football

Third Level Football represents Mens and Womens Colleges and Universities football on the island of Ireland.

There are currently 48 Colleges and Universities represented in Third Level competitions with 107 teams playing in the Mens (CUFL) and Womens (WSCAI) national leagues which run from October until March.

The CUFL is currently a 5 tiered structure with the Premier Division and Division One both consisting of two groups of 6. Divisions 2, 3 and 4 are all divided into four groups of 4-5 teams.

The WSCAI is currently a 3 tiered structure with their Premier Division and Division One also consisting of two groups of 6. Division 2 also has the same makeup as the CUFL.

Teams qualify from the group stage of the competition to the knockout stage which eventually leads to a final where the winners are presented with the league trophy

Each club also participates in cup competitions organised by their respective affiliate. There are three affiliates in Third Level Football.

The Colleges Football Association of Ireland (CFAI) represent all Institute of Technologies, Independent Colleges and Further Education Institutes.

The Irish Universities Football Union (IUFU) represent all Universities.

The Womens Soccer Colleges Association of Ireland (WSCAI) represent all women's Colleges and Universities.

Each affiliate has a premier cup competition - the CFAI UMBRO Colleges Cup, the IUFU Collingwood Cup and the WSCAI Intervarsities.

Both sides are also represented internationally and participate in the World University Games bi-annually.

You can find all the information you require by browsing this website. If you have any questions you wish to ask please feel free to contact us here