College Football Association of Ireland


History of the Colleges Football Association of Ireland (CFAI):

On Friday 16th June 1972, the first meeting of the Irish Technical Colleges and Schools Football Union (ITC&SFU) was convened at the College of Technology, Kevin St, Dublin. This meeting set up a Steering Committee to design a constitution and Management Structure for the organisation of Football in the Colleges. The Committee's first task would be to organise the "College Cup Competition" which would later be named the "Donagh O'Malley Cup".

In October 1973 the association held its first AGM. In 1976 the association changed its name to the Irish Technical Colleges Football Association (ITCFA). During the 80's and early 90's the association began to expand its membership with the admittance of Private Third Level Colleges. In 1997 the association had 21 active members. In 1998 the ITCFA admitted Coláiste Stiofáin Naofa as its first Further Education College.

In 2000 the ITCFA changed its name to the Colleges Football Association of Ireland (CFAI). During the early 2000's the CFAI expanded its membership to its current membership of 37 active member colleges from all over the island of Ireland. At this stage the CFAI were coordinating their national league with 55 teams and 3 divisions.

Following a development process, led by the FAI, the Umbro Colleges and Universities Football League was established in 2006. This has become a welcome innovation enabling members of the CFAI and the IUFU to compete in a combined league on an all island basis for the first time.

Sponsored By