College Football Association of Ireland

Plate Success for Carlow

06 March 2019

After making an early exit from the main Colleges FAI Cup competition they had won in six of the past eight seasons Premier Division IT Carlow gained some consolation by capturing the Rustlers Plate with a hard earned 3-2 victory over Division Two outfit National College of Ireland in the final at the splendid TU City Campus Grangegorman.

It wasn't easy for Carlow early on and they received a set back in the opening ten minutes when Josh Hogan found space in the Carlow area to steer home a brilliant left wing cross from Ollie Hamsat for a shock NCI lead.

Carlow quickly recovered and were back on level terms midway through the half when great skill by Kieran McDaid gave Danny Doyle the chance to beat NCI 'keeper Conor Ennis from close range.

Carlow then began to dominate the game and McDaid set up Dean Kelly for a strike on goal but Ennis did well to keep out his effort.

All the Carlow pressure paid off five minutes later with McDaid, later named Man of the Match, slotting home the lead goal at the far post from Sean Hurley's deep left wing cross.

Carlow took complete control early in the second half and Sean Barnes stretched the lead by tucking away their third goal after he ran on to McDaid's brilliant through ball.

The Dublin college were far from beaten and Hamset gave them hope with a great finish to narrow the margin to a single goal with ten minutes remaining.

However NCI were unable to summon up an equaliser and Carlow saw out the remaining minutes to take the honours.

MAN OF THE MATCH: Kieran McDaid (IT Carlow)

IT CARLOW: Marcin Kowalyszic; Callum Ennis (Shane Martin 73), Ciaran O'Reilly, Nathan Coleman; Jason Murphy (Kyle McCarthy 62); Kieran McDaid (Mark Birrane 75), Dean Kelly; Liam McCarthy, Shane Barnes (Calvin Nolan 62), Sean Hurley; Danny Doyle (Chris Connors 90).

NATIONAL COLLEGE OF IRELAND: Conor Ennis; Liam Doyle, Jason Murphy, Shane Burke, Ronan O'Kelly; Armstrong Bekombo, Conor Walsh (Bilal Baker 54; Josh Hogan (Peter Fola Atoki 34), Gavin Kennedy (Ross Buckley 50), Shane Stokes; Ollie Hamsat.

Referee: Paul Tuite, Assistants: Aidan O'Brien, Larry Cunningham.

« Go Back

Sponsored By