College Football Association of Ireland

Tipperary Institute win thru to Bob Eustace Cup Final

25 February 2009

Tipperary Institute win thru to Bob Eustace Cup Final

Tipperary Institute 1 – 0 Senior College Dun Laoghaire

Browne 15

Tipperary Institute won through to their first Bob Eustace Cup Final defeating the current holders, Senior College Dun Laoghaire, 1-0 in a very competitive fixture in Thurles today. SCD came to this Semi Final having beaten Cavan Institute and Mater Dei in previous rounds, while Tipperary Institute had overcome Griffith College Dublin and St Patricks College Carlow on their journey through the competition.

The game started at a hectic pace, with both sides fully committed, but with few clear cut chances. After 15 minutes, TI took the lead when a Robert Browne free kick from out on the left wing was deflected home by an unfortunate Dun Laoghaire defender. Despite both keepers being called upon regularly throughout the 90 minutes, this proved to be the only difference at the end of a hugely enthralling semi final.

For Tipperary, Hensey and Rencontre both caused trouble for the Dun Laoghaire back line while O’Brien and Murray worked tirelessly in midfield. At the back Guiry and Keegan gave very solid performances in front of Dargan who looked composed at all times.

The Tipperary team, comprising of students from St Patricks College, Thurles and both Tipperary Institute’s campuses, now advance to play the winners of Dundalk IT or Drogheda Institute of FE in the final. This game will be one of the four finals played over two days at the CFAI National Cup Finals in Galway. The match is scheduled for the 11th of March @3pm in the Salthill Devon Complex at Drom.

Tipperary Institute/St Pats : Pierce Dargan, Jonathon Crean, Kevin Keegan, Rob Browne, Graham  Guiry, David Brophy, Phil O’Brien, Seamus Ryan, Robin Murray, Simon Hensey, David Rencontre Subs: Proinseas Matthews for Brophy 60, Dean Grannell for Ryan 65, Gearoid O’Connor for Rencontre 75, Justin Dermody, Paul Bowe, Phil Treacy, Tom Gleeson Manager: Michael Cox

Senior College Dun Laoghaire:  Stephen Wall, Niall O’Rourke, Shane O’Hannigan, Conor Donnelly, Sean Catterson, Graham Kinsell, Abdi Mohamed, Darren Nolan, Sean Tobin, Stephen O’Grady, Darragh Mullen Subs: Tom Dean, Richie Allop, Paul McBride Manager: Brendan Maguire

« Go Back

Sponsored By