College Football Association of Ireland

IT Sligo win UMBRO CFAI Cup

13 March 2009

IT Sligo 3 Letterkenny IT 2 Second half substitute Stephen Coen with a goal on 75 minutes bridged a 32 year gap as IT Sligo held on against Letterkenny IT to claim the Colleges FAI Umbro Cup for the first time since 1977 at Salthill Devon.

Sligo were twice ahead in a pulsating decider first from a Niall Costello header just before the break and then Sean Kelly's volley on 51 minutes.Only for the Donegal side to respond brilliantly drawing level with two second half goals after Gareth Harkin had earlier failed to hit an equaliser from the penalty spot on 44 minutes.

Letterkenny midfielder Paul Doohan was more accurate with his spot kick two minutes into the second half when Harkin was pulled down in the box and then Mark Forker netted a second equaliser on 67 minutes.

But Sligo bounced back for Coen to strike the winner with a low drive past Paddy Harkin following a neat move by Sean Kelly and Thibaul Galland found him free on the right.

IT Sligo:R Kelly,G Coniffe, R O'Donnell,C O'Grady,N Costello,R McCombe ( T Galland 62),C Greene, S Kelly, G O'Dwyer (S Coen 53((B O'Donnell 89), R Boyle, G Melly.

Letterkenny IT:P Harkin, D McGarvey, K Hogan (P Bonner ht), P Heraghty, S McElwaine, P Doohan (C McCullough 59), F Bonner, M Forker, O McMenamin, G Harkin, G Whoriskey.

Referee: T Geasley (Galway).

« Go Back

Sponsored By

Warning: include(C:\inetpub\wwwroot\third/templates/templates_c\%%3D^3DC^3DCDF9F0%%right-column.tpl.php) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in C:\Program Files (x86)\smarty\libs\Smarty.class.php on line 1869

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening 'C:\inetpub\wwwroot\third/templates/templates_c\%%3D^3DC^3DCDF9F0%%right-column.tpl.php' for inclusion (include_path='.;C:\Program Files (x86)\smarty\libs') in C:\Program Files (x86)\smarty\libs\Smarty.class.php on line 1869