College Football Association of Ireland

IT Carlow and NUIG Progress to National Futsal Finals

22 March 2010

Hosts were the winners at todays Colleges and Universities Futsal Regional Cup competitions today.

IT Carlow backed by their Soccer Degree course players beat Waterford, IT Carlow Wexford, Tipperary and last years finalists Athlone IT in the Midlands event. For photos from the day click here


Athlone IT– Manager Maz Sweeney, Coach Gerry Lennon
1. Gabriele Modolo 2. Seun Akinbode 3. Shako Mateta 4. Yohann Saudes 5. Ivan Ortega Villa 6. Johnny Lo 7. Cedric Mebounou 8. Jack Mendy 9. Giovanni Loglisci

IT Carlow – Wexford – Manager Darragh Kelly
1.Ted Foxe 2. Mark O’Gorman 3. Gary Murphy 4. John Higgins 5. Alan Davis      6. Brendan Larkin 7.  Kieran Murphy 8. Patrick Higgins 9. Gary Murphy 10. Draagh Kelly

Waterford Institute of Technology – Manager John Douglas, Coach Mark McKenna
1.Kevin Byrne 2. Adam Heaslip 3. Paul Carey 4. Craig Hore 5. Zak Shanahan 6. Shane Clarke 7. Shane Morrissey 8. Lee Donoghue 9. Danny Walsh

IT Carlow – Manager Paul O’Reilly
1.Nicholas Kantounis 2. Jamie Carr 3. Robert Tier 4. Robert Farrell 5. Ben Ryan 6. Patrick Carey 7. Craig Wall 8. Darren Kavanagh 9. Daniel Ledwith 10. Gary Sweeney

Tipperary Institute / St Patrick’s College – Manager Michael Cox
1. Pierce Dangan 2. Rob Browne 3. Mark Flynn 4. Rob Murray 5. Tony Greene 6. Phil O’Brien 7. Martin Fitzgerald


In Galway GMITs Tom King emerged as top scorer with eight goals but it wasn't enough stop the powerful NUI Galway who won all their games. Highlight of the day was an amazing team goal from UL's Alan Coleman volley after an overhead flick up from Rob Phelan

For photos from todays Galway Finlas click here



IT Carlow 9 vs Tipperary Institute 2
Waterford IT 7 vs IT Carlow - Wexford 0
IT Carlow 4 vs Waterford IT 1
Athlone IT 1 vs IT Carlow - Wexford 2
Waterford IT 5 vs Tipperary Institute 2
IT Carlow 6 vs Athlone IT 2
IT Carlow - Wexford 4 vs Tipperary Institute 2
Waterford IT 3 vs Athlone IT 1
IT Carlow 5 vs IT Carlow - Wexford 0

IT Carlow44002451912
Waterford IT430116799
IT Carlow Wexford4202615-96
Athlone IT41031014-43
Tipperary Institute4004924-150


NUI Galway 4 vs IT Sligo 1
GMIT Castlebar 2 vs GMIT - Galway 8
University of Limerick 4 vs IT Sligo 7
NUI Galway 5 vs GMIT Castlebar 1
University of Limerick 3 vs GMIT - Galway 1
GMIT Castlebar 7 vs IT Sligo 0
NUI Galway 4 vs University of Limerick 1
GMIT - Galway 4 vs IT Sligo 1
GMIT Castlebar 5 vs University of Limerick 2
NUI Galway 5 vs GMIT - Galway 2

NUI Galway44001851312
GMIT Galway4301171079
GMIT Castlebar4202161516
IT Sligo4103919-103

GMIT Galway: 1: Ronan Forde, 2: Declan Roper, 4:Rory Gaughan, 5: Victor Oladapo, 8: Kevin Grehan,  9: Tom King, 11: Ken Farrell.

GMIT Castlebar: 1: Paul Martin, 2: Seamus Higgins, 3: Johnny Carroll, 4:Daniel Burke, 5: Kevin Burke 6: Colin McDonnell, 7:Chris Rowland, 8: Augustine Ademoye, 10: Kevin McManaman.

NUIG: Neil MacDonnell, Aidan Dooney, Conor Clarke, Clément Chantelap, Dani Gil Carrera, Francois Golhen, Jose Maria Benito Sanchez, Luis Javier Bayero, Killian Malone, Roberto Bergaz Hernandez.

IT Sligo: 1: Shane O’Flaherty , 6:Lee McFadden, 2: Gareth Kelly, 3: Darragh Healy, 4: Mark McGoldrick, 5: Marty Conlon, 7: Kieran Brick

UL:,1: Cian Healy, 3:Jesus Barco, 4:Denis Flanaghan, 5:Rob Phelan,6: Simon Hickey, 8:Alan Coleman


« Go Back

Sponsored By