College Football Association of Ireland

CFAI Cups Round Up

21 November 2014

The 2014/15 CFAI Cups kicked off this week with Preliminary Rounds in the UMBRO Cup and Bob Eustace Cup

UMBRO Cup Holders IT Carlow faced a long journey to Kerry to take on an IT Tralee side that had failed to light up the Division One, however the hosts went ahead early through Nathan Murphy, but the impressive Andy Mulligan equalised to leave the sides level at the break. Carlow went 3-1 up with a second from Mulligan and one from the prolific Dean Broaders while Johnny Bonner and Ethan O'Neill got another two for Carlow as James McCarthy replied to leave the final score 5-2 to the holders who now face a local derby against Waterford IT in the next round.
Last years beaten finalists Athlone IT went 3-0 up against Limerick IT with goals from Segun Junaid, Hafeez Sholola and Glody Nsay, but the visitors got two back on the last four minutes from Shane O'Donoghue and Mark McGrath, but the hosts ran out 3-2 winners and will now face new boys the Air Corps.
Conor McDonald scored six times as the rejuvenated Dundalk IT hammered Sallynoggin College.
In the opening game of the Cup Cork IT hosted and beat fancied DIT with goals from Dylan Griffin and Barry O'Mahony, as Gary Curran replied for the visitors. Cork IT's reward is a trip to ITT Dublin in January.
The shock of the round was the exit of CUFL Premier Division side IT Sligo who travelled to the impressive IT Blanchardstown. Two second half goals from Allesandro Peurini were not enough to see the westerners through as Sam Verdon, Darren Kehoe, Youcef Belhout and Karl Murray goals saw the home side advance 4-2 to face GTI Galway at home.
In the Bob Eustace Cup Robbie Corcoran repeated his four goal haul from last season's final victory as he got another four in Waterford It's thrashing of IT Carlow Wexford in the south east derby. Inchicore's Izzy Akiande also got four as his side safely negotiated a tricky trip away to last season's beaten finalists Moate Business College. Jonas Kerr also got four as IT Carlow D shocked Cork College of Commerce 7-3.
There were also for goals for Sodiq Oguntola who got all of DIT 'C's goals against Athlone IT 'C' while Sean O'Reilly got a hat-trick for Mater Dei as they had a very impressive 5-1 win over Cork IT 'C'.
Bray Institute were impressive 5-2 winners over the returning Rathmines College in Enneskerry
In the two closest games of this round it took extra time to separate GMIT Mayo Campus and Griffith College Dublin while Alan Williamson was the Dublin Business School hero in their first win of the season as they beat Carlow Institute of FE 1-0.
CFAI Umbro Cup Preliminary Round Results
Cork IT 2 (Dylan Griffin, Barry O'Mahony) DIT 1 (Gary Curran)
Sallynoggin College of FE 0 Dundalk IT 9 (Conor McDonald (6), Marcel Ekueme, Sean O'Connor, Craig Pentony)
Athlone IT 3 (Segun Junaid, Hafeez Sholola, Glody Nsay) Limerick IT 2 (Shane O'Donoghue, Mark McGrath)
IT Tralee 2 (Nathan Murphy, James McCarthy) IT Carlow 5 (Andy Mulligan 2, Dean Broaders, Johnny Bonner, Ethan O'Neill)
IT Blanchardstown 4 (Sam Verdon, Darren Kehoe, Youcef Belhout, Karl Murray) IT Sligo 2 (Allesandro Peurini 2)
CFAI Bob Eustace Cup Results
Moate Business College 2 (Mark Rossiter 2) Inchicore College of FE 6 (Izzy Akinade (4), David Kolapo 2)
Mater Dei College 5 (Sean O'Relly (3), Dara Raymond, Ciaran O'Brien Cork IT 'C' 1 (Eoin O'Donoghue)
GMIT Mayo Campus 2 (Sean Paul McMahon 2) Griffith College Dublin 1 (Jonathan Morrin) after extra time
IT Carlow 'D' 7 (Jonas Kerr (4), Augustine Ademoye, Keith Hamilton, David Howe) Cork College of Commerce 4 (Robbie Healy 2, Mohamed Vanaghum, Mark Parkes)
IT Blanchardstown 'C' 2 (Ade Alabi (pen), Curtis Durnin) St Pats Drumcondra 1 (Ross Taheny)
IT Carlow Wexford 1 (Sean O'Grady) Waterford IT 'C' 9 (Robbie Corcoran 4, Mark O'Neill, Pedro Brazcolen, Gabriel Macedo, James Graham, Cathal McGonigle)
Dublin Business School 1 (Alan Williamson) Carlow Institute of FE 0
Dublin IT 'C' 4 (Sodiq Oguntola 4) Athlone IT 'C' 1 (Femi Olapaide)
Bray Institute of Further Education 5 (Sam De Sousa (2), Rian Greene (2), Adam Cox) Rathmines College 2 (Jordan Ojo, David Tomika)

« Go Back

Sponsored By