College Football Association of Ireland

Waterford IT Defeat DBS in National Futsal Final

22 January 2015

Waterford IT claimed their first CUFL Futsal Cup following an excellent national finals day in IT Sligo.

Waterford IT found themselves with plenty of time on the ball in their own half with DBS happy to sit off and force WIT to long distance shots. In the opening minute of the game Cormac Breslin tested the ever reliable Rodrigo Teixeira Aguair in the DBS goal, with the 6.3 keeper tipping it wide. DBS where finding it very difficult to retain possession, relying on counter attacks which where easily dealt with by a very patient WIT team.
Eventually in the 5th minute of the game DBS put together their first signs of attack, Luiz Maurizio R.Cabral shooting from just inside the WIT half which was saved by Eoin Doyle. The resulting shot led to a quick counter attack by WIT forcing Man of the Match Rodrigo Teixeira Aguair into an excellent double save following Cormac Breslin and Sean Aurley attempts.
After a hard opening nine minutes DBS started to come into the game, rallied by Luiz Maurizio R.Cabral they started to grow in confidence, putting together some comfortable passages of play in the WIT half. Eoin Doyle in the Waterford net was starting to become busier in this tense final being called into action on three occasions after shots from Zazk Mousa and twice from Luiz Maurizio R.Cabral.
In the 12th minute of the game good play down the right hand side of the pitch resulted with Nial McCabe driving into space and putting in Sean Aurley who's touch was too heavy which was easily read by the brave Brazilian Aguair resulting in a collision between the two.
Waterford IT managed by former Waterford United manager Paul O'Brien remained well organised and patient throughout the game. In the 13th minute of the game, a pass from Luiz Maurizio R.Cabral threaded in Carlos Pardo, which was read by Nial McCabe who played an illegal back pass to Doyle in goal. The incident resulted in a DBS free kick 14 yards out from goal. The initial free kick hit the 3 man WIT wall and Doyle was tested from close range pushing the ball out for a corner.
In the 15th minute DBS managed by former Bohemians player Adam Crowther called for a time out. Looking tired DBS appearing in their first final, are urged on by their travelling support.
Rodrigo Teixeira Aguair was again called into action in the 17th minute making a treble save from Sean Aurley and Ben Duffy respectively. DBS continued to counter attack breaking away at speed and trying to catch WIT out of position.
In the final stages of the 2015 final it was nearly heartache for Dublin Business School as a thunderbolt from Conor Coad was tipped onto the bar by Rodrigo Teixeira Aguair, dropping onto the ground and rolling across the line. A patient and tactical performance from WIT and a passionate exciting counter attacking performance from DBS meant that neither side could break down each other leaving the game to be decided by penalties.
When at one stage it looked nobody was going to miss, Eoin Doyle made a solid save from Zack Mousa leaving James Coad to convert for WIT. Coad did so and Waterford IT claimed a 7-6 victory on penalties to become National Champions. Commiserations to Dublin Business School who played their part in a fantastic final.
Well done to Rodrigo Teixeira Aguair the DBS goalkeeper who claimed the Man of the Match award after a string of fantastic saves through not only the final but the who tournament. Congratulations to Waterford IT who now have the chance to travel to the 10th European Universities Futsal Championship, which will be organised in Poznan, Poland between August 2 and 9, 2015.
National Futsal Finals Results IT Sligo
Group 1
11:00 - Griffith College 0 IT Sligo 6 (Brazet Piere Alexandre 4, Luis Eduardo 2)
12:00 - Cork IT 1 (Nial Griffen) Griffith College 1 (Yannis Malaoui)
13:00 - IT Sligo 1 (Brazet Piere Alexandre) Cork IT 4 (Ryan Carroll, Alan Anderson, Eoin Healy, Wesley Connolly)
Group 2
11:30 - Waterford IT 3 (Sean Aurley 2, Nial McCabe) Dublin Business School 3 (Jan Bischoff 2, Carlos Pardo)
12:30: Athlone IT 1 (Claudio Cantamessa) Waterford IT 2 (Nial McCabe, Cormac Breslin)
13:30 - Dublin Business School 1 (Victor Molinari Pallemo) Athlone IT 4 (Andrea Brunello, Craig Reddan, Claudio Cantamessa 2)
Quarter Finals
14:15 - IT Sligo 1 (Luis Eduardo) Dublin Business School 4 (Luiz Mauricio R. Cabral, Sylvain Corre, Diego Santos Pedrazi 2)
14:45 - Athlone IT 1 (Davide Maio) Griffith College 1 (Yannis Malaoui) (Griffith win 5-4 on Penalties)
Semi Finals
15:30 - Cork IT 0 Dublin Business School 2 (Luiz Maurizio R. Cabral, Diego Santos Pedrazi)
16:00 - Waterford IT 2 (Sean Aurley, Conor Coad) Griffith College 1 (Rafael Novais Dias)
17:00 - Dublin Business School 0 Waterford IT 0 (Waterford IT win 7-6 on penalties)

« Go Back

Sponsored By