College Football Association of Ireland

Scholar Watch GW1

07 March 2016

This is the first edition of our new weekly review of Colleges & Universities players playing in the SSE Airtricity League.

Photo credit Limerick FC Twitter @LimerickFCie

Take a look at all CUFL players in the senior squads of this season's SSE Airtricity League here

Notable Performances
Niall Cooney captained Drogheda United in their first game back in Division 1, whilst goalkeeper Patrick Dunican made his competitive debut for the Boynesiders in their narrow victory over Waterford United.

Garbhan Coughlan, Colm Murphy and Paudie O'Connor all starred for Limerick in their impressive 4-1 victory over UCD. This was despite Maxim Kouogun giving UCD the lead with a header from a Gary O'Neill free-kick.

Kaleem Simon also played a starring role in Longford Town's victory in Ferrycarrig Park against newly promoted Wexford Youths.

29 Starting Appearances
Aidan Friel (Air Corps/Wexford Youths), David Curran (Cork IT/Cobh Ramblers), Shane O'Connor (Cork IT/Cobh Ramblers), Patrick Dunican (DCU/Drogheda United), Niall Cooney (DIT/Drogheda United), Kaleem Simon (DIT/Longford Town), Anthony McAlavey (IT Carlow/Waterford United), Andrew Wall (IT Carlow/Cabinteely), James Dermody (IT Carlow/Waterford United), Jonny Bonner (IT Carlow/Wexford Youths), Michael Kelly (Maynooth University/Cabinteely), Jason Abbott (UCC/Cobh Ramblers), Maxim Kouogun (UCD/UCD), Gary O'Neill (UCD/UCD), Ryan McLaughlin (UCD/UCD), Oscar Brennan (UCD/Cabinteely), Niall Corbet (UCD/UCD), Ian Fletcher (UL/Athlone Town), Colm Murphy (UL/Limerick), Paudie O'Connor (UL/Limerick), Shane Mackey (Waterford IT/Waterford United), Ian Sinnott (Waterford IT/Waterford United) Aaron O'Connor (Waterford IT/Waterford United), Robbie Buckley (Waterford IT/Waterford United), Garbhan Coughlan (UL/Limerick), Ryan Delaney (IT Carlow/Wexford Youths), Alan Kehoe (IT Blanchardstown/Shelbourne), Dan Tobin (UCD/UCD), Val Feeney (UL/Athlone Town)

13 Substituted On
Dean Broaders (IT Carlow/Waterford United), Alan O'Sullivan (DCU/Athlone Town), Ross Mann (Limerick IT/Limerick), Dylan Kavanagh (Maynooth University/Shelbourne), George Kelly (UCD/UCD), Conor Dunne (Maynooth University/Athlone Town), Jack Watson (DCU/UCD), Andy Mulligan (IT Carlow/Wexford Youths), Jamie Mulhall (ITT Dublin/Longford Town), Eoghan Dempsey (IT Carlow/Drogheda United), Aaron Brilly (DIT/Cabinteely) Sodiq Oguntola (DIT/Shelbourne), Sean Coyne (UCD/UCD)

14 Unused Substitutes
Jack Brady (DCU/Shelbourne), Aaron Shanahan (IT Blanchardstown/Bray Wanderers), Daniel Molloy (IT Carlow/Athlone Town), Stephen Last (IT Carlow/Wexford Youths), Shane Costelloe (Mary Immaculate College/Limerick), John McKeown (Maynooth University/Longford Town), Darragh Gannon (Maynooth University/Shelbourne), Kevin Horgan (NUI Galway/Galway United), Padraic Cunningham (NUI Galway/Galway United), Ayman Ben Mohamed (Trinity College /Bohemians), Conor O'Donnell (UCD/UCD), Samir Belhout (UCD/UCD), Jason McClelland (UCD/UCD), Matthew Connor (Waterford IT/Wexford Youths)

1 Goal
Maxim Kouogun (UCD/UCD)

5 Yellow Cards
Val Feeney (UL/Athlone Town), Patrick Dunican (DCU/Drogheda United), Anthony McAlavey (IT Carlow/Waterford United), Ryan McLaughlin (UCD/UCD), Jamie Mulhall (ITT Dublin/Longford Town)

0 Red Cards

« Go Back

Sponsored By