College Football Association of Ireland

Match Report

RUSTLERS CFAI Eustace Shield - Final

Kick Off: Tuesday 5th March 2019 at 18:00
Location: TU Dublin Grangegorman
Referee: To be Confirmed

Teams: Limerick IT "C" 3 vs Drogheda Institute of FE 5

A seven year wait for a major honour was ended in style by Drogheda Institute of FE when they claimed the Colleges FAI Eustace Shield with a clear cut 5-3 win in the heavy rain over Limerick IT 'C' at TU Dublin Grangegorman.
The Co Louth college last tasted success in 2012 capturing the CUFL Division Two title and they overcame Limerick in what was their second game in 24 hours after a rearranged semi final win at IT Carlow 'D' the previous afternoon.

Drogheda lead at half time through a goal from Raivis Jurkonis in the 41st minute. Luke Campbell set up the chance with a neat ball into the Limerick goal mouth and when Donal Landy's shot was blocked by goalkeeper Jordan Kelly, Jurkonis followed up to strike the ball home.

Drogheda stretched their lead on 68 minutes when Campbell was fouled in the box and Landy's well taken spot kick easily beat Kelly.

Niall Gates then headed a neat Campbell cross in for the third Drogheda goal with ten minutes remaining and it looked all over.

However the goals then began to arrive in a breath taking last ten minutes with Conor Smith pulling one back for Limerick with a superbly struck free kick from the edge of the box.

Back came Drogheda and straight from the re start Alex Shields swept home another fine Campbell cross to make it 4-1.

There were still more goals to come goals and Smith repeated his earlier free kick with another quality finish but once again Drogheda responded and Jake Hannan grabbed a fifth after Jurkonis crashed an effort off the cross bar.

Limerick never gave up and they added a third in time added on when Liam Keane got on the end of a corner to beat Niall McDonnell but it was all too late and the honours went to the Boynesiders.

Man of the Match: Luke Campbell (Drogheda Institute)

LIMERICK IT 'C': Jordan Kelly; Andrew Law-Branley (Besong Eyong Antem h-t), Eoin Galvin (Liam Keane 80), Michael Uwatse, Declan O'Halloran (Komlaw Boevi 77); Kevin Tubridy, Nathan Duggan, Conor Smith, Dylan Walsh (Justice Mbayimbayi h-t), Marcus Jackson, Conor Brennan.

DROGHEDA INSTITUTE OF FE: Niall McDonnell; Ioan Anton, Ruairi Kelly, Dylan Maher, Ross Kelly; Donal Landy (Ryan Quinn 83), Sean Woods (Jake Hannan 73), Alen Vilums (Alex Shields 50), Ephan Donnelly (Niall Gates 60), Raivis Jurkonis, Luke Campbell.

Referee: Aidan O'Brien Assistants: Martin Browne, Ciaran Redmond.

« Go Back

Sponsored By