College & Universities Football League

RUSTLERS Womens Premier Division

RUSTLERS Womens Division One

RUSTLERS Premier Division

RUSTLERS Division One

RUSTLERS Division Two

RUSTLERS Division Three

RUSTLERS Division Four

World University Games

Match Report

RUSTLERS Division Three - Final

Kick Off: Tuesday 13th March 2018 at 18:00
Location: FAI NTC, Abbotstown
Referee: John McCarthy

Teams: Dublin City University 'B' 1 vs Maynooth University 'D' 1*

The added drama of a penalty shoot out was needed the decide the outcome of the Rustlers Colleges and Universities Division Three decider with Maynooth University 'C' finally coming out on top 5-4 after extra time had failed to separate them from DCU 'C' at the FAI NTC Abbotstown.

Maynooth won 5-4 on penalties

A tight game remained scoreless at the break with Maynooth looking the more dangerous side after Azeez Ogunfowra and J J Afforjama had both gone close to grabbing some goals.

Maynooth continued to dominate on the resumption and Ogunfowra should have broken the deadlock when he put clean through by Eoin Donnellan but his finish was past the post.

But it was Afforjama who quickly made amends shortly after to finally put Maynooth in front when he outpaced the DCU defence and beat goalkeeper Padraig Byrne with a low drive.

Ogunfowra then had a couple of chances to stretch the lead but each time Byrne was quickly off his line to deny the striker.

DCU suddenly began to come more into the game in the final quarter and Cian Heuston and Conor Reynolds both went close to snatching an equaliser.

It looked Maynooth had done just about enough to take the title as the minutes ticked away when Byrne's long clearance deep into the Maynooth goal area was met by Jack Brady who headed past Patrick O'Siochru for the late equaliser.

Ogunfowra might have clinched the win in extra time but he failed to get enough on to his effort and Byrne held it with ease.

Maynooth kept their cool to come out on top in the shoot out converting all five of their spot kicks while DCU missed out when the unlucky Dean McCarry struck the crossbar with his effort.

Man of the Match-Eoin Donnellan (Maynooth).

DCU 'C': Padraig Byrne; Philip Martin, Ian Martin, Aaron Goodson (Cian Heuston 70), David Shevlin; Dean McCarry, Mark Molloy (Joe Spratt 106); Conor Reynolds, Jack Brady, Joseph Walsh; Conor Neville (Shane Moore 79).
Subs not used: Dylan Raleigh, Darren Farrell, Eoin Mahon, Dominic Hull.

MAYNOOTH UNIVERSITY 'C': Patrick O'Siochru; Joseph Garvey, Alpha Ike, Damien Sabliere, Ceelan Simon; Karl Maguire, Eoin Murphy (Keelan Patel 82); Joseph Afforjama, Eoin Donnellan, Cillian Byrne (Matthew Mullen 91); Azeez Ogunfowra.
Subs not used: Sam Dwyer, Cian O'Toole, Fahad Mohammed, Max Butler, Darragh McPartlin.

Referee: John McCarthy. Assistants: Derek Rooney, Ciaran Redmond.

« Go Back