College & Universities Football League

RUSTLERS Womens Premier Division

RUSTLERS Womens Division One

RUSTLERS Premier Division

RUSTLERS Division One

RUSTLERS Division Two

RUSTLERS Division Three

RUSTLERS Division Four

World University Games

Match Report

RUSTLERS Womens Premier Divison - Final

Kick Off: Wednesday 27th February 2019 at 19:00
Location: Athlone Town Stadium
Referee: To be Confirmed

Teams: IT Carlow 1 vs Maynooth University 2

Maynooth University are the 2019 RUSTLERS CUFL Women's Premier Division champions after defeating IT Carlow 2-1 in Athlone Town Stadium on Wednesday night.

Goals at the start of both halves from Lauren Kelly and Emma Byrne sealed a third success for the Kildare side.

Kelly gave Maynooth the lead after five-minutes when she struck from the edge of the box and the ball looped over the helpless Amanda McQuillan.

Carlow provided a physical challenge to Maynooth throughout and equalised just after midway through the first half when Megan Smyth-Lynch played Bronagh Kane down the right flank and Kane delightfully lifted the ball over Sophie Lenehan from thirty yards.

Maynooth started the second-half in a similar vein to the first and after Player of the Match Lauren Kealy had a strong penalty claim turned down, they retook the lead through Byrne. The midfielder pounced on a loose pass from Chloe Moloney, played a one-two with Hannah Flatley and cooly slotted past McQuillan.

Carlow pressed strongly in the second-half and had numerous chances to equalise with Lauren Dwyer and Maggie Duncliffe forcing Lenehan into smart saves.

Smyth-Lynch had a glorious opportunity to level it in stoppage time when Lauryn O'Callaghan crossed into the box. The Carlow captain found herself in plenty of space but looped her shot over the bar and allowed Maynooth to seal success.

IT Carlow: McQuillan, O'Callaghan, Cassin, Duncliffe, Moloney, Dwyer, Kane, Smyth-Lynch, Shanahan (Jacob 83), O'Connor, Conlon

Maynooth University: Lenehan, Lafferty (Owens 59), Berry, Carroll, Byrne, McKevitt, Kealy, Dunne, Kelly, Walsh, Flatley (Gillen 87)

Referee: Vicki McEnery (Midlands)

« Go Back