Irish Universities Football Union


History of the Irish University Football Union:

Football competition between universities in Ireland was first established in 1914 when Betram J Collingwood Professor of Physiology at UCD and a nephew of Lewis Carroll, author of Alice in Wonderland presented the Collingwood Cup.

Only the First World War and for two years in the 1930's differences between two football authorities north and south prevented the tournament from taking place every year since then and 2008 will occasion the 91st time on which this unique all island soccer championship has been played.
From modest beginnings in the early years of the 20th century the Collingwood grew in stature and prestige adding new university names and winners down the years.

In the 1970's a football union (Irish University Football Union) was formed under the leadership of the late great Dr. Tony O'Neill and very quickly other competitions were established including the Collingwood Plate, the North/South University League for the Shamrock Rovers trophy, the Harding Cup for freshman students and the Crowley Cup for second team players.

More recent development has seen the expansion of the Collingwood Cup to incorporate the Farquhar Cup, the Spillane Cup and the Duggan Cup.

Finally the establishment of the Umbro Colleges and Universities Football League last year 2006/2007 has become a welcome innovation enabling members of the IUFU and the CFAI to compete in a combined league on an all island basis for the first time. This relationship between both bodies increased in 2015 when both agreed to come together for a Colleges & Universities National Team. UCC's Greg Yelverton was appointed as the Head Coach of the team in January 2016 with the side playing fixtures against Wexford Youths, The Irish Defence Forces, Scotland Universities, Wales Universities, and France Universities.

Sponsored By