Irish Universities Football Union

Woods wins first Harding for Trinity in 21 years

24 February 2018

Trinity College claimed their first RUSTLERS IUFU Harding Cup in 21 years after a hard fought 1-0 victory over UCC in Tolka Park today. James Woods goal in first half stoppage time proved to be the difference between the two sides.

UCC who overcame UCD in Friday's semi-final started brightly and an early free-kick almost ended up in the back of Matt Lyons net but it drifted wide of the post. Trinity grew into the game as the half went on and James Woods raced through on goal after 28 minutes but was taken down outside the box by UCC net minder David Coffey who received a yellow card for the foul. From the resulting free kick Trinity thought they had taken the lead but James Kelly's left footed strike from 20 yards was ruled out for an offside in the build up.

It looked as though the teams would go in level at the break but a moment of magic from Dylan Clarke put Woods through on goal and the Shelbourne FC player made no mistake slotting past Coffey to put the Dublin side 1 up.

UCC battled hard in the second half as they attempted to forge a way back into the game but Trinity defended resolutely and were determined to keep a clean sheet. After two tough victories against UL and Maynooth University, Trinity had already showed a great resolve and held on to their lead to capture their fourth Harding Cup title and the first since 1997. Head Coach Ray O'Malley now has the unique achievement of winning the competition as player and coach after he picked up in the trophy in 1992.

To cap off a memorable victory Trinity's Peter Healy was awarded Player of the Tournament after 3 superb performances this week.

UCC: David Coffey, Bryan Cotter, Rob Slevin, Aaron Davin (c), James Sheehan, Brian Mulcahy, Conor Fitzgerald, Leo Chung, Matthew McKevitt, Owen Collins, David Walsh. Substitutes: Ben Shanhan, Conor Kelly, Cathal Shine, Tom Condon, Andrew McMahon, Sean Grace, Nathan Sheridan
Head Coach: Will O'Donoghue

Trinity College: Matt Lyons, Evan McCroary, Dylan Connolly (c), Joe Heatly, Killian Doyle, Ivan McConville, Dylan Clarke, Peter Healy, Eoin Farrell, James Woods, James Kelly. Substitutes: Cian Dunne, Cillian Dorman, Ross Dunphy, Aaron Ward, Brian Lynch, Mark Wadid, Jamie Rice
Head Coach: Ray O'Malley

Referee: Colin Duffy

« Go Back

Sponsored By