Irish Universities Football Union

Hooper Trophy Irish Universities v Colleges FAI

24 April 2013

John Caulfield is hoping that the Irish Universities side can build on their recent fine win over the Irish Defence Forces when they face a testing game against the Colleges FAI in the annual Hooper Trophy clash at The Mardyke Cork to-day (5.30).

The Colleges FAI side are the current holders of the trophy after their emphathic 4-0 drubbing of the Universities last season.
But new boss Caulfield who received a huge boost in his first game in charge with that narrow 4-3 win over the Forces earlier this month, is confident that his current squad can over turn last seasons disappointing defeat.
"We did really well to edge out the Forces and scoring four goals was a bonus that should help to give the lads plenty of confidence. But we must be wary as the Colleges are a fine side and they are unbeaten themselves this season so I'm expecting a difficult game" said Caulfield.
Caulfield will have to plan without UCD defender Tristan Dent for the game but he can welcome back another Belfield man in the experienced Samir Belhout.
While Crowley is missing defenders Niall Cooney and Reece McEnteer plus Crumlin Utd striker Danny McGuinness from the side that drew 1-1 with the Scottish Universities in Forfar last week.

IRISH UNIVERSITIES:Goalkeepers: Jamie Clerkin (Royal College of Surgeons), David Minihan (Trinity College Dublin).
Defenders: Sean Hoare (NUI Maynooth), Steve Mahon (UCC), Andrew Neville (UCC), Robert Gaul (DCU), Aaron Traynor (Queens / St Marys).
Midfielders: Cillian Morrisson (UCD), Niall Hanley (UCD), Tyrone McNelis (UCD), Hughie Donovan (UCC), Conor Barry (UCC), Cathal Lordan (UCC), Eoghan Burke (University of Limerick), Peter Lane (Mary Immaculate College, Limerick).
Forwards: Samir Belhout (UCD), Stephen Doyle (University of Ulster Jordanstown), David Lodola (DCU), Josh O'Shea (UCC).

COLLEGES FAI: Goalkeepers: Michael Schlingermann (IT Carlow),Craig Sexton (IT Carlow).
Defenders: Neil Harney (Athlone IT), Dylan Mernagh (Waterford IT),Jamie Carr (IT Carlow), James Scallan (IT Carlow).
Midfielders: Tom King (GMIT Galway), Paul Malone (DIT), Eoin Murray (DIT), Barry O'Mahony (IT Carlow), Andy Mulligan (IT Carlow).
Forwards: Colin Scanlon (Limerick IT), Ray Foy (IT Carlow).


« Go Back

Sponsored By