Irish Universities Football Union

NCI win 2014 CUFL Futsal National Cup

19 March 2014

National College of Ireland won the 2014 Colleges and Universities Futsal Cup at the Mardyke Arena, UCC today after a thrilling 2-0 victory over Athlone IT.

For photos click here
An early Glenn Shannon goal put the Dubliners ahead and despite constant pressure for the rest of the game they couldn't find a way past the excellent Aaron Murphy. NCI wrapped up the game in the last minute on a break away with Lean Fahy Byrne tapping in from close range.
Stephen Chambers received the man of the match award in the final and was probably the best player in the tournament for NCI.
Group Games:
University College Cork 3 National College of Ireland 0
IT Sligo 1 (Fredric Blanc) Athlone IT 5 (Arnold Charmasson (2), Stefano Cerioni, Andrea Balestra, Daniele Marotta)
National College of Ireland 3 (Glenn Shannon (2) Stephen Chambers) Dublin IT 1 (Ian Jorden)
Waterford IT 2 (John O Donnell, Cormac O'Driscoll) IT Sligo 1 (Fredric Blanc)
Dublin IT 0 University College Cork 2 (Junior de Silva, Robin Schreibe)
Athlone IT 5 (Andrea Balestra (2), Stefano Cerioni (2), Saad Ali Waterford IT 0
Quarter Finals
National College of Ireland 3 (Stephen Chambers, Leon Fahy Byrne, Adam Deegan) IT Sligo 1 (Frederic Blanc)
Waterford IT 1 (AJ Lehane) Dublin IT 1 (Jacob Ferguson) (WIT won 3-1 on penalties)
Semi Finals:
University College Cork 0 National College of Ireland 1 (Glenn Shannon)
Athlone IT 4 (Alessandro Arrigoni, Arnold Charmasson, Stefano Cerioni 2) Waterford IT 2 (Connor Morrisey, Dean Moran)
National College of Ireland 2 (Glenn Shannon, Lean Fahy Byrne) Athlone IT 0

UCC: Stephen Bermingham, Marcos Bevan, junior Da Silva, David Rea, Robin Scheibe, Conor Cremin, Evan Browne, Henrique lopes
DIT: Phillipp Marius Sprick, John Murray, Ian Jordan, Jacob Ferguson, Yohan Antoinat, Abdeen Abdul, Lindokuhle Majola, Jason Slema, Adeslida Alove, Siarhei Lipinslu
IT Sligo: Ali Al Niyadi, Paulo Carvalho, Jonathan Grimaud, Mhamdi Oualid, Jeremy Chanlit, Fredric Blanc, Jay Dee Alawiye
Waterford IT: Denis Ridgard, A.J. Lehane, Cormac O Driscoll, Connor Morrisey, Ben Duffy, Tomas Piacek, John O Donnell, Ian Goulding , Alvaro Sanchez, Dean Moran
NCI: Aaron Murphy, Glenn Shannen, Stephen Chambers, Lean Fahy Byrne, Adam Deegan
Athlone IT: Alessandro Arrigoni, Arnold Charmasson, Stefano Cerioni, Andrea Balestra, Daniele Marotta, Massoud Mohammadi, Idris Oyeniyi, Saad Ali, Eduardo Maciel, Andreas Brehm

Referees: Dermot Broughton, Mark Whelan, Tom Tully, Ricky Crean


« Go Back

Sponsored By