Irish Universities Football Union

UU Coleraine capture IUFU Crowley Cup

29 March 2014

Three first half goals gave the holders University of Ulster Coleraine an emphatic 3-0 victory over UCC in the Irish Universities Crowley Cup final on their home campus.

Player Manager Matty Hynds was the inspiration for their latest success with an opening goal after 12 minutes when his fiercly driven 20 yard free kick managed to find the back of the Cork net despite goalkeeper Diarmuid Long getting a hand to it. Steafan McKenna had Coleraine two up six minutes later with a smart finish after clever play by Gavin McCaughan provided him with the chance.
Then minutes before the interval Cork were given a mountain to climb when Sean McEvoy forced the ball home from close range for Coleraine's third following McKenna's neat header back across the goalmouth after a well-placed Ryan Gribben corner.
Coleraine had earlier accounted for DCU by a similar scoreline in a fairly one sided semi-final with goals from McCaughan (2) and Ross Davidson.
While in the other semi-final Paul Karg and Dylan McNamara hit a goal in each half as UCC edged past NUI Maynooth. The Maynooth boys gained some consolation by going on to take the Crowley Plate with a 4-0 win over DCU, with Eoin Kinsella and Jake Corrigan grabbing to goals apiece.
UNIVERSITY OF ULSTER COLERAINE: Jamie McAtarsney; Johnny Wildsmith, Michael Herrity, Ross Davidson, Craig Doak; Michael Lynch, Sean McEvoy, Matty Hynds, Ryan Gibben; Gavin McCaughan, Steafan McKenna.
Subs: Ben Greer (for Doak),Chris Crowe (for McKenna),Dale Long (for McEvoy), Stephen O'Neill (for Gribben), Matthew Ferry (for Herrity).
UCC: Diarmuid Long; Ronan Scully, John Ryan, John O'Brien, Jamie Madden; Dave Walsh, Cillian O'Conghaile, Paul Karg, Dylan McNamara, Marcus Bevan; Kevin O'Connor.
Subs: Dave Hooley (for Scully), Killian Murphy (for Walsh), Steve Guerin (for Karg).
REFEREE: Ryan Kelsey (Portstewart).
Irish Universities Crowley Cup Results (29th March 2014) all games at University of Ulster Coleraine
Group A: DCU 3 (J Reed 2 pens, G Kenny)University of Limerick 0; University of Limerick 1 (D O'Ceallaigh) NUI Maynooth 3 (A Muhamed, E Kinsella, C Peppard); DCU 0 NUI Maynooth 2 (R Schoenaman, A Muhamed).
Group B: University of Ulster Coleraine 0 Queens University Belfast 0; Queens University Belfast 0 UCC 1 (J Ryan); University of Ulster Coleraine 2 (M Hynds, V Mouton) UCC 0.
Semi Finals: NUI Maynooth 0 UCC 2 (P Karg, D McNamara); University of Ulster Coleraine 3 (G McCaughan 2, R Davidson) DCU 0.
Final: UCC 0 University of Ulster Coleraine 3 (M Hynds, S McKenna, S McEvoy).
Plate Final: NUI Maynooth 4 (E Kinsella 2, J Corrigan 2) DCU 0.
Shield Final: University of Limerick 2 (S Carrig, F Gonzalez) Queens University Belfast 1 (I Ghafarri).
Player of the Tournament: Matty Hynds (University of Ulster Coleraine).

« Go Back

Sponsored By