waterford it clinch a third futsal cup

24 January 2017

Home side Waterford IT celebrated after claiming a third Colleges and Universities Football League (CUFL) National Futsal Cup in a row with a narrow 1-0 victory over IT Blanchardstown in the decider at the splendid WIT Arena


This third success was a hard earned one as the holders had to survive a first half penalty miss by Jamie Hollywood for Blanchardstown before Niall McCabe struck to grab the vital score in the closing minutes.

Waterford IT and IT Blanchardstown will now go forward into the semi final draw for the FAI Futsal Cup where the ultimate winners will represent the Republic of Ireland in the UEFA Futsal Cup.

While Waterford IT will have the option of entering the European Universities Futsal Cup finals.
Waterford had to work hard in the five team round robin games before managing to reach another final and at one stage they might have missed out to surprise packets DIT.

Goals from Ben Duffy and McCabe got the home side off to a comfortable win over Cork IT in their opener.

Then successive draws against DIT (0-0) and IT Sligo (2-2) saw them drop points in contrast to IT Blanchardstown who became pool leaders after getting off to an impressive start with two wins a draw.

Cormac Breslin kept Waterford in contention for a top two finish and aplace in the decider when he netted a late equaliser in a 2-2 draw against Blanchardstown who went on to top the pool.

Waterford's place in the final was eventually confirmed when DIT needing at least a 2-0 win could only draw 1-1 with IT Sligo in their final game.

The final proved to be a tight affair Dean Reidy and Breslin were off target with first half chances before Blanchardstown were awarded a penalty but Hollywood smashed his effort off the crossbar.

The home side controlled most of the second half and skipper Ian Sinnott blasted two free kicks wide and Shane Nolan saw his short well saved by Ian Molloy.

The winner came when Breslin broke from defence to run on and set up McCabe who slotted a low drive past Molloy.

WATERFORD IT: Mathew Connor, Ian Sinnott, Ben Duffy, Cormac Breslin, Shane Nolan, Fawza Ishola, Dean Reidy, Graham Byrne, Niall McCabe, Craig Dunphy. Head Coach Paul O'Brien.

IT BLANCHARDSTOWN: Marcin Kowalczyk, Ian Molloy, Karl Byrne, Daniel O'Donovan, Aaron Brazil, Dylan Byrne, Adam Clarke, Jamie Hollywood, Curtis Durnein, Steven Ball. Head Coach Coach Jamie Moore. Assistant Coach Conor Parnell.

Referees: Gerry Behan, Darren Coombes, Alan Patchell.

« Go Back