chinese taipei 1-1 ireland (5-3 on pens) - shootout delight for ireland

26 August 2017

It took a penalty shootout for Team Ireland's Women's Football team to overcome tournament hosts Chinese Taipei in blistering heat at Hsinchu County Second Stadium. After finishing 1-1 after ninety minutes, the Girls in Green prevailed in the penalty shoot-out 5-3 to send them into a mouth-watering tie with Team GB on Monday.

After a 6 day break, Bell made one change to the side beaten by Canada, as Claire O'Riordan came in for Clare Kinsella, with Claire Walsh also stepping into midfield with Ciara McNamara falling back into the back three. The hosts selected several senior internationals for Taiwan in their side.

Ireland fell behind on 31 minutes when the defence failed to clear their lines inside their own box with the ball eventually falling to Yen Ping Chen who stroked home for the host side. The Irish had chances with Walsh trying her luck with a volley from 25 yards but the UCD player failed to get the right amount of power behind it to trouble Fang Yi Chu, the Taipei keeper.

There were several opportunities for Ireland to equalise in the second half with captain Amber Barrett guilty of missing a golden opportunity to level the sides. She did turn provider for the goal when she flicked on substitute goalkeeper Eve Badana's kickout into the path of another substitute Rianna Jarrett. Jarrett powered through on goal only to see her shot saved but Jetta Berrill was on hand to smash in the rebound and send the game to penalties.

Barrett was the first to step up and coolly smashed her penalty into the top corner. Kinsella and Jarrett followed suit before Badana pulled off an excellent stop to deny Chen. Berrill put Ireland on the brink with Walsh tasked with netting the crucial penalty to send the Irish into celebration.

Ireland - Budden (Badana 60'), Berrill, McNamara, Fox, Carroll, Mustaki (Jarrett 81'), Walsh, Frawley, McLaughlin (Nolan HT), O'Riordan (Kinsella HT), Barrett.
Subs Unused: McCarthy, Ryan-Doyle, Clancy, Byrne, Webb.

Chinese Taipei - Chu, Jhuo, Su, Lin, Liu, Lee, Yu, S Pan (Ho 90'), Tsou (Shu Chang 90'), Chen, Y Pan (C Chang HT).
Subs Unused: T Pan (GK), Lai, Ting, Su Chang, T Pan, Lo.

« Go Back