colleges & universities: squad announced for defence forces clash

20 April 2018

It will be a domestic affair on Tuesday afternoon as Ireland face Ireland when the Defence Forces welcome the Colleges & Universities to Collins Barracks, Cork (KO: 12.30pm) in a Representative Friendly.

It will be the third time in as many years that the Forces will come face to face with the Colleges & Universities combined with the contest set at a victory apiece following a 2-1 victory for the Defence Forces in the same venue as Tuesday's game in 2016 whereas the Colleges & Universities levelled the score with a 2-0 win in Home Farm FC last year thanks in part to a goalscoring Man of the Match performance from last season's SSE Airtricity League Division One top goalscorer Georgie Kelly.

Greg Yelverton's student team warmed up for Tuesday's clash with a 1-0 victory over Scotland Universities in Oriel Park. Yelverton has recalled 11 of that squad with goalscorer Daire O'Connor in contention to play. There is also a recall to the squad for Dundalk IT's Georgie Poynton and IT Carlow's Anthony McAlavey in an 18-man squad that boasts 15 players playing in either the SSE Airtricity League or NIFL Danske Bank Premiership.

Speaking ahead of the game in his home county, Yelverton said, "It is another opportunity to bring a squad together comprising of the best players we have in Third Level Football. I was very happy with how the squad took on board the advice we gave them before the Scotland game and demonstrated it on the pitch. We have had tough encounters with the Defence Forces in the past and we have to set targets for ourselves to raise our game again if we want to leave with another win under our belts."

Colleges & Universities Squad

Matthew Connor (Waterford IT/Waterford FC), Cathal O'Hanlon (UCC/UCC AFC) Sean O'Mahony (UCC/UCC AFC) Liam Scales (UCD/UCD AFC) Ross Taheny (DCU/Ballinamallard United) Ben McAuliffe (UCC/UCC AFC), Maurice Nugent (NUI Galway/Galway United), Pierce Phillips (UCC/Cobh Ramblers*) Georgie Poynton (Dundalk IT/Dundalk FC), Carlton Ubaezuonu (Dundalk IT/Galway United*), Anthony McAlavey (IT Carlow/Cobh Ramblers), Jonny Bonner (IT Carlow/Crusaders), Dean Kelly (IT Carlow/Wexford FC), Jason McClelland (UCD/UCD AFC), Shane Daly-Butz (UCC/UCC AFC), Daire O'Connor (UCD/UCD AFC), Alan O'Sullivan (DCU/Warrenpoint Town), Shane Barnes (IT Carlow/Wexford FC)
*On loan

« Go Back