collingwood cup: safe passage for holders

23 January 2019

Holders UCD progressed to the last eight of the Rustlers Collingwood Cup with a 2-0 victory over Mary Immaculate College Limerick at Limerick IT.

A goal in each half proved enough to see the Belfield side into a quarter final meeting with last season's beaten finalists Queens University Belfast in the University of Limerick on Monday February 4.

It wasn't an easy passage for UCD by any means as they were made to work hard for the win by a well set up Limerick side who defended in numbers relying on some counter attacks to test the visitors 'keeper Gavin Sheridan.

Jason McClelland, Gary O'Neill and Conor Davis all had efforts blocked as UCD pressed for an early breakthrough before they finally got their reward on 26 minutes.

Liam Scales played in the over lapping Evan Osam with a superbly weighted ball inside full back David McGregor and Osam took a touch before hitting a low drive past goalkeeper Shane Hogan.

The holders continued to patiently move the ball around but the strong defensive system that Mary Immaculate manager Noel O'Connor had employed continue to snuff out the danger.

UCD had to wait until 12 minutes from the finish before they finally sealed the win with a second goal when skipper O'Neill's fine right footed strike from outside the area beat a helpless Hogan to finish off a fine team move.

Mary Immaculate did create a couple of chances and Scott Fitzgerald was close only for Scales to get a slight head on the ball to deflect for a corner. While later Osam's brilliant block kept out Alan O'Donnell's effort.

Mary Immaculate College
Shane Hogan; David McGregor, Dermot Murphy, Adam Costello, Neilus McEssey; Scott Fitzgerald (Mark Purcell Ryan 86), Mark Shanahan, Alan O'Donnell (Sam O'Neill 75),Brendan Angland, Diarmuid Curran (Daragh O'Sullivan 86); Sean Doherty. Subs not used: Odhrun Hennessy, Cormac Suffin, Senan Keane.

University College Dublin
Gavin Sheridan; Dan Tobin (Darragh Corcoran 80) , Josh Collins, Liam Scales, Evan Osam (Mark Dignam 80); Paul Doyle (Yousef Mahdy 69), Gary O'Neill; Neil Farrugia, Timmy Molloy, Jason McClelland (Sean Byrne 80); Conor Davis. Subs not used: Sean Coyne, Gareth Coughlan, Conor Kearns.

Referee: John McNamara

« Go Back