international awards nominees announced

17 March 2019

The Colleges and Universities winner will be announced at the Awards Show will be broadcast on RTE 2 at 8.30pm tonight

Daire O'Connor, Jason McClelland and Shane Daly-Butz are the three nominees for Colleges and Universities Player of the Year at this evening's Three FAI International Football Awards.

All three players were excellent for Greg Yelverton's side in the 2018 campaign with victories over the Irish Defence Forces, Scotland and France proving to be a great year for Third Level on the international scene.

UCD alumni, Daire O'Connor scored twice in the three games including the only goal against Scotland in Oriel Park. He has since moved on from the students and has made an excellent start to the season with Cork City before sustaining a shoulder injury on Friday night against Bohemians.

McClelland also had his scoring boots on for the side when he opened the scoring against the Irish Defence Forces in Cork last April. He is still studying in UCD this year and is a key part of Collie O'Neill's SSE Airtricity League Premier Division team.

Daly-Butz is also nominated for his tireless performances in the games. The winger was always a source of creativity for the side. Having graduated from UCC last year, he is currently signed with Cork City.

This year will be the third year where Colleges and Universities have been recognised at the annual awards ceremony among their international peers. Ex-Maynooth University student Paul Rooney was the inaugural winner of the award in 2017 before UCC's Sean McLoughlin scooped the award at last year's ceremony.

2019 Three FAI Colleges and Universities International Award Nominees

Daire O'Connor (UCD)
Jason McClelland (UCD)
Shane Daly-Butz (UCC)

« Go Back