blanch win division one

19 March 2019

TU Dublin Blanchardstown are the RUSTLERS CUFL Division One champions after a nail-biting 1-0 victory over arch rivals TU Dublin Tallaght in Athlone Town Stadium.

Mikey Scott's second half header was the difference between the sides in a fiercely contested game. The success sees Blanchardstown promoted to the Premier Division for the 2019/20 season.

The game burst into life on eighteen minutes when Rob Manley headed against the crossbar. As Tallaght tried to clear their lines, George Mukete was brought down on the edge of the area. Scott stepped up for Blanchardstown but Darragh Gogan stood tall and blocked Scott's weak attempt.

It was Blanchardstown that had the best of the chances throughout the game with Tallaght defender Daniel Ridge having to make a last-ditch block as Rob Manley looked destined to score just before half-time.

Despite Blanchardstown's pressure, they were dealt a blow when midfielder Eoghan Morgan received a second yellow card for a late challenge on Sean Quinn just minutes into the second half.

The breakthrough finally came with seventeen minutes to go when Eric Abulu burst down the left-hand side and whipped an inch-perfect cross for Scott to head home from six yards out.

Tallaght threw everything at Blanch in the final few moments with Colin McCabe having to prevent Quinn from firing home from thirty yards with defenders Andy McKenna and Dan O'Donovan defending relentlessly as Tallaght kept pressing. The rear-guard held out and the trophy is going to Dublin 15.

Blanchardstown: McCabe, O'Riordan (Byrne 77), Abulu, McKenna, O'Donovan, Morgan, Manley (Coyne 80), Hollywood (Murray 90), Scott, Mukete (Brazil 52), Ball (Keogh 82)

Tallaght: Gogan, Maher (Canty 71), Gilson (Dunne 83), Towers, Ridge, Lovic (Murphy 83), Quinn, McPhillips, Ogaga (Sofola 70), Andre, Sanusi

Referee: Paul Malone (Midlands)

« Go Back