university of limerick capture cufl premier div title

University of Limerick Capture CUFL Premier Div Title

03 March 2009

Two goals from John Tierney and one from Paul Cummins ensured that the Limerick side won their very first Colleges and University Premier League title in Terryland Park, Galway last night. Finn Harps player, Fintan Bonner pulled a consolation goal back with fifteen minutes remaining but it wasnít enough as Conor Molamís side ran out winners in a pulsating affair.

Univ. of Limerick 3 (J Tierney (2) 30, 54; P Cummins 75)

Letterkenny IT  1 ( F Bonner 76 )

John Tierney struck twice to put University of Limerick well on the way to claiming the Colleges and Universities Premier League title in a comfortable 3-1 win over Letterkenny IT at Terryland Park.

Tierney hit the first on 30 minutes, finishing low past Liam Mailey. The second came nine minutes into the second half with a 30 yard effort. Paul Cummins added Limerick’s third on 75 minutes, before Fintan Bonner netted a consolation score for the Donegal side a minute later.

UL: D Ryan; D Goggins, E O’Brien, B Clery, O Mullins, B Daly, P Walsh, S Goggins, J Tierney(D McGrath 73), P Cummins, M Deady(G Roche 84).

Letterkenny IT: L Mailey, D McGarvey, G Whoriskey(K Hogan 84), P Bonner, S McElwaine, P Doohan, O McMenamin, M Forker(S Gibbons 82), F Bonner, D McIlwaine(P Hegarty 73), G Harkin.

Referee: E Deering (Roscommon)

« Go Back