dominant colaiste ide the kings of memphis

13 April 2009

Colaiste Ide were celebrating after totally dominating the latter stages of the prestigious John Tally Showcase Tournament at the University of Memphis with both of their sides battling out the Boys Under 19 Section decider.

Story from

Coaches Jim Conroy and Danny Crowley were proud men on this historic occasion as they saw the two Finglas college teams take the field for the tournament final in the Mike Rose Stadium at the University.

"It was a brilliant moment," said Crowley. "The final gave us a great opportunity to showcase the talents of our players and the coaches from colleges and universities all over the US who watched the game were very impressed."

Already Conroy and Crowley have been busy responding to the huge volume of e mails coming in from US coaches with offers of scholarships for Ide players.

The Ide Green side --their first team squad- came out on top in the thrilling decider that was noteable for the huge effort and commitment both sides put into the game.

Crowley explained: "We told the players to forget they were up against their college collegues and treat the game in the proper manner,but we had no worries on that score as they did'nt spare themselves."

Noel Downey had the Green team ahead at the break with two fine goals.The Blue side produced a much improved second half performance and Aiden Dempsey pulled a goal back midway into the half.

But Eoin Dolan sealed the win for the Greens heading a third in the closing minutes.

Pearl Slattery,Megan Nugent and under age international Rachael Graham from Colaiste Ide guested on US college sides in the Girls Under 19 section and already all three have had scholarship offers.

Another major highlight of the visit to Memphis was the coaching day Colaiste Ide organised for the local Special Olympics squad.

Colaiste Ide (Green):Ryan Coulter, Keith Murray, Stephen Flynn, Eric Macken, Dave McMahon, Brendan Carberry, Dean McNevin, Jamie King, Noel Downey, Kevin Cornwall, Sam Zarka, Danny McBride, Steven Hickey, Simon Brown, Eoin Dolan, Kurtis Murphy, Keith McLoughlin, Graham Quinn, Andrew Byrne, Darey Richards.

Colaiste Ide (Blue): Graham Bedford, Colm Byrne, Dwayne Kelly, David Arthur, Declan Travers, Joseph Rogers, Stephen Walsh, Luke Keogh, Padraic Gilsenan, Jason Hevey, Eoin McGowan, John Morgan, Keith Martin, Sean Lynch, Aiden Dempsey, Shane McCaffrey, Jamie Basnett, Sean Hayden, Ian O'Reilly, Paul Tyrrell.

- john Hudson


« Go Back