irish team for world university games announced

Irish Team for World University Games Announced

09 June 2009

The Colleges and University Sports Association of Ireland (CUSAI) today announced the Irish athletes who will be competing in this summerís World University Games.

Photos from launch click here

There are 69 students selected across athletics, fencing, football (men’s and women’s), swimming, taekwondo and tennis for the biennial competition, which this year takes place in the Serbian capital Belgrade from July 1 to July 12.

The squad boasts five Olympians from the 2008 Beijing Games - Fionnuala Britton and Joanne Cuddihy on the track, Melanie Nocher in the pool, Eileen O’Keeffe in the hammer, and Siobhan Byrne in fencing.WUG 1

Team Ireland Chef de Mission, Paul Davis, said: “This year we have as strong a set up as we have ever had in the competition and would hope that our athletes will perform well in Belgrade”.

“The fact that the team has five Olympians in its ranks shows the highcalibre of sport at third-level institutions across Ireland. The commitment by the coaching, background staff and athletes has been second to none in preparation for these games and we hope that this hard work will yield success.

WUG 2Ireland’s campaign kicks off on 30 June when the footballers take to the field to play their first round matches. The men taking on Uruguay and the women, who made it to the semi-final in 2007, face Japan.

In track and field, Team Ireland have high hopes for success after Eileen O’Keeffe notched up a silver in the hammer throw in the 2007 World University Games in Bangkok, Thailand. This will be the Kilkenny athlete’s fourth world games and shows promising signs of medalling again this year carrying on from competing in the Beijing Olympics in 2008.

Fionnuala Britton has also been on top form in international university competition picking up an individual silver and team bronze in the cross-country at last year’s World University Championships in Mauquenchy, France.

The official opening ceremony of the 2009 World University Games takes place on July 1st.


Football (Men)

Ciaran Boyd                                (University of Ulster)

Billy Brennan                              (University College Dublin)

Brian Cleary                                (University of Limerick)

James Costello                            (University of Ulster)

Ryan Coulter                               (Colaiste Ide)

Brendan Daly                              (University of Limerick)

John Dineen                                (University College Dublin)

Ciaran Forde                               (University College Cork)

Mark Forker                                (Letterkenny IT)

Gareth Harkin                             (Letterkenny IT)

Peter MacMahon                         (University College Dublin)

Oisin McMenamin                      (Letterkenny IT)

Michael McSweeney                   (University College Cork)

John Mulroy                                (Dublin City University)

David O'Sullivan                        (Dublin IT)

Stephen Roche                            (Dublin IT)

Graham Rusk                              (University College Dublin)

Mark Surgenor                            (University of Ulster)

Alan Teggart                               (University Of Ulster)

Dean Zambra                              (Dublin IT)

Manager:                                     Kieran Harding (Irish FA)

Coach:                                         Ger Dunne (Football Association of Ireland)

Assistant Coach:                         Jimmy Cumiskey (IUFU & Trinity College Dublin)
Football (Women)

Zoe Doherty                                (Dublin City University)

Ruth Fahy                                   (University of Limerick)

Emer Flatley                                (University of Limerick)

Rachel Furness                            (Northumbria University, UK)

Lynn Marie Grant                       (Waterford IT)

Aoife Herbert                              (University of Limerick)

Rachel Jenkins                            (Dublin IT)

Sarah McGrath                            (St. John’s University, USA)

Tiarna McKenna                         (University of Ulster)

Carla Moran                                (Dublin City University)

Niamh Mulcahy                          (University of Limerick)

Grace Murray                              (Dundalk IT)

Lorna O'Connell                         (University of Limerick)

Amanda Parkes                           (Colaiste Stiofain Naofa)

Louise Quinn                              (University College Dublin)

Bronagh Sheridan                       (Dublin City University)

Nicola Sinnott                             (University College Dublin)

Mary Waldron                             (University College Dublin)

Manager:                                     Sue Ronan (Football Association of Ireland)

Assistant Coach                          Maz Sweeney (Football Association of Ireland &

                                                    Athlone IT)

Assistant Coach                          Emma Martin (Football Association of Ireland)





« Go Back