finnegan hat-trick secures cufl division one title for sallynoggin college

25 February 2010

A hat-trick by man of the match Peter Finnegan saw Sallynoggin College of Further Education defeat Mary Immaculate College Limerick in tonight’s Umbro Colleges and Universities Football League Division One Final in Tullamore Town FC’s magnificent facilities.

Photos courtesy of Jeff Harvey game click here

SCFE Man of the MatchStephen Murphy’s Sallynoggin came into the game as slight favourites after a great season in the CUFL and CFAI Cup and were runners-up in this competition last year. In the eight minute Sallynoggin striker Alan Lynch went on a great run and from his cross Luke Massey hit the post. Two minutes later Mary I’s John Byrne went close but was denied by an excellent save by Denis Kelleher. After some excellent play by both sides the deadlock was broken in the 31st minute. Sam Keating’s through ball found Finnegan (pictured above) and he beat two Mary I players and slotted home from a tight angle.

Sallynoggin went 2-0 up on 57mins when another great run from Lynch ended up with a pass to Finnegan for a simple tap in. Finnegan completed his hat-trick 8mins later when a cross from Massey was controlled excellently and volley to the net for the best goal of the night.

Noel O’Connor’s Mary I fought back however and just 2mins later were back in the game. A free kick from James Kelleher has headed home excellently by the un-marked Sean Scanlon. Mary I came close on a couple of occasions to narrowing the gap but Sallynoggin held on to win 3-1.

CFAI Chairman Padraig Carney presented the CUFL Division One Cup to Sallynoggin Captain Gary Murphy after the game.

Sallynoggin: Dennis Kelleher, Sam Keating, Daniel Keating, Stephen Osborne, Gary Murphy, Shane Thompson, Luke Byrne, Daniel Gaughen, Peter Finnegan,  Alan Lynch, Luke Masse. Subs: Jason Mahon for Gaughen (65mins), Adaz Totu, Derek Bryne.

Mary I: Sean Burke, Ian Lynsky, James Kelleher, Conor Lane, Daniel O’Flynn (capt), Sean Scanlon, Ciaran Hennelly, Donnacha Higgins, Rob O’Halloran, John Byrne, Enda Keenan. Subs Danny Heneghan for Keenan (29mins), Cathal Connolly for O’Halloran (57mins), Tomas O’Shea for Kelleher (70mins), Geoff Nugent, Michael Meade, Dan Sheehan, Bobby Carroll.

Referee: Eddie Sullivan

« Go Back