ucd claim 2010 crowley cup

28 March 2010

Michael Whelan was the UCD goalscoring hero finishing with a flourish on 28 minutes after cutting through the UCC defence to claim the Irish Universities Crowley Cup at DCU Sportsground, Glasnevin.

Cork ’keeper Mike O’Reilly then did well saving brilliantly from Philip Byrne and Whelan as the Belfield boys went in search of a second before the break.

But after weathering the storm UCC had a couple of second half chances to get back on terms only for Conor McGroarty in the opposite goal to deny Mark Irwin, Niall Hennebry and later substitute Dan Walsh.

The win gives UCD a historic clean sweep of Colleges and Universities trophies for the season having already captured the Collingwood and Harding Cups plus the Premier League title. 

UCD:C McGroarty, D Gahan, P Curtin, C O’Brochlain, J Rogers, M Gallagher (C McEvoy 75), M Whelan, G O’Toole, P Byrne, J Lehane (R Lynagh 66), B O’Brochlain (D Kennedy 83).Subs: M O’Wall, D Mulumby, J McCarthy, C McCarthy.

UCC:M O’Reilly, N Hennebry, D Kilcummins, P Nodwell, R Hobbs, M O’Brien, A Murphy, R Barrett (J Wade 81), T O’Sullivan (P O’Neill 55), P O’Keeffe (D Walsh ht), M Irwin.Subs: E O’Neill, P Fehily.

Referee:Tony McGuinness (Dublin).


Crowley Cup Final
University College Dublin 1: University College Cork 0

Plate Final
Queens University 2 (K Rawlinson 2) University of Limerick 1 (C Forkin).

Shield Final
Ulster University Coleraine 0 Dublin City University 5 (D Burson 2, A O’Regan, R Assande, K Nolan)

Group One Results - Saturday
University College Dublin 2: Queens University Belfast 1
Ulster University Coleraine 0: Queens University Belfast 3
Ulster University Coleraine 0: University College Dublin 7

Group Two Results- Saturday
Dublin City University 0: University of Limerick 2
Dublin City University 3: University College Cork 1
University College Cork 3: University of Limerick 0


« Go Back