ucd and it sligo through to wscai futsal national finals

22 November 2010

UCD Qualified from the WSCAI South Dublin Regional Futsal Finals at UCD and IT Sligo qualified from Sligo today Monday 22nd November.

South Dublin Report

Although beaten by Colaiste Ide in the earlier group game, a goal from Catherine Cronin after 8mins was enough to see last years Plate winners UCD through to the National Finals in January 2011. UCD had strong performances from goalkeeper Shona Hanlon, Irish international Louise Quinn and Sonja Murphy.  Colaiste Ide had good performances from Leah Cassidy, Saidhbh Collins  and Irish Under 19 Goalkeeper Aisling Dyer

UCD ‘A’ 3 UCD ‘B’ 0
Scorers: Jordan Braschlory, Louise Quinn, Sonja Murphy

Colaiste Ide 3 UCD ‘B’ 1

Scorers: Ide Aishling Kerr, Michelle O’Reilly, Leah Cullen. UCD: Emi Takakura

Colaiste Ide 2 UCD ‘A’ 0

Scorer: Saidhbh Collins (2)

UCD ‘A’                7 UCD ‘B’ 0

Scorers: Meghan Hoaly (3) Sonja Murphy, Julie Gillis (3)

Colaiste Ide 2 UCD ‘B’     0

Scorers: Saidhbh Collins                , Michelle O’Reilly

Colaiste Ide 0 UCD ‘A’ 1

Scorer: Catherine Cornin

Referee: Andrew Maher


UCD ‘A’: Shona Hanlon, Meghan Hoaly, Sonja Murphy, Aisling Soaly, Louise Quinn, Catherine Cronin, Jordan Braschlor, Julie Gillis.

UCD ‘B’: Courtney Cobb, Niamh Murphy, Helena Danahor, Rachel Looney, Audrey Bradford, Joanne Scott, Emi Takakura, Alby Shirlow, Laura Cullen.

Colaiste Ide: Aishling Dyer, Aishling Kerr, Andrea Culley, Leah Cassidy, Michelle O’Reilly, Lisa Cullen, Sinead Hughes, Ciara Smith, Leah Scott, Saidhbh Collins

West Report

For photos from IT Sligo click here

IT Sligo ‘A’ qualified from the west venue after beating Athlone IT 4-2 in the final.

Sligo topped the group stages with 9 points from 9 and comfortably beat 4th place GMIT in the semi final.

AIT played Sligo B in the other semi final in what was probably the most exciting game of the day.

The game ended 0-0 after full time, 5mins golden goal couldn't separate them either, so penalties were called upon. Taylor and Murray smashed home AIT's spot kicks and AIT’s goalkeeper Elisha Hunston, who was fantastic throughout the tournament pulled off two great saves to see AIT through to the final.

The final was a tight affair with some good end to end action but Sligo came out on top in the end.

Some of the best performances on the day came from Lucy Hannon and Hazel Mc Cafferty form Sligo A, Nora Ward form AIT and Emma Cullen form the Sligo B team.


Athlone IT

Elisha Hunston, Nora Ward, Emma Curley, Ashley Monus, Louise Igoe, Marian Murray, Chloe Foy, Sinead Taylor, Ann Marie Dolan


Madeline O'Donnell, Sharon Lyons, Aztea Zevenbergeri, Justine Montchal, Aoife Ni Cheallaigh, Emer Flaherty, Laura Kealy, Christine Mc Cutcheon

IT Sligo A

Roisin Mc Cafferty, Hazel Mc Cafferty, Caroline Ormsby, Grainne Grimes, Sarah Finnerty, Amy Gerrity, Maria Harrington, Orla Devanney, Lucy Hannon

IT Sligo B

Emma Cullen, Anna Grant, Linda Kenny, Anita O'Hara, Sandra Costello, Anne-Marie Carragher, Ailis Leonard, Rachel Creighton.

IT Sligo A 6 v IT Sligo B 0

Scorers:Hazel Mc Cafferty 2, Orla Devanney 2, Lucy Hannon, Amy Gerrity


Scorers: Chloe Foy 2, Sinead Taylor 2, Ann Marie Dolan 2.

IT Sligo A 1 V GMIT O

Scorer: Lucy Hannon

AIT 2 v IT Sligo B 2

Scorers: Sinead Taylor, Marian Murray AIT and Anna Grant, Sandra Costello IT Sligo

IT Sligo A 1 v AIT 0

Scorer: Hazel mc Cafferty

IT Sligo B 2 v GMIT 0

Scorers: Anna Grant, Sandra Costello

IT Sligo B 1 V AIT 1

Scorers: Anna Grant IT Sligo and Nora Ward AIT

IT Sligo A 6 V GMIT 0

Scorers: Sarah Finnerty 2, Lucy Hannon 2, Hazel Mc Cafferty, Orla Devanney

IT Sligo A 4 V AIT 2

Scorers: Lucy Hannon 2, Hazel Mc Cafferty, Orla Devanney for IT Sligo and Sinead Taylor, Emma Curley for AIT

« Go Back