mens futsal results from ul and ucd

23 November 2010

University of Limerick qualified from the mens west division while Drogheda Institue caused a major shock in Dublin qualifying for the National Finals in 2011.

West Futsal Report
UL qualified for the CUFL Futsal Cup Final on March 1st by making it through a tough West Regional Final of the competition unbeaten. 6 Teams competed, in the University Arena in UL for the one spot in the final and the UL team looked a good bet for qualifying from the start when they put 6 past Mary I in the opening game. NUIG were also doing well and were a fancied surprise package especially when the UL A team drew with the UL B team which was quite a good team boasting a semi-pro Futsal GK from Spain. First game back after the break however was UL and NUIG which at one point was 3-3 before UL eventually ran out 8-3 winners and set themselves up for their final victory against Mary I ‘B’, an 11-2 thumping which secured their place in the National Final. Top goalscorer on the day was Martin Deady of UL with 14 goals in 5 games, while also of note was Rory Gaffney of GMIT netting 5 goals in one game. Well done to all teams for a very entertaining and high scoring competition.

For photos from UL click here


Mary I ‘A’

Enda Keenan, Robbin Lannon, Leon Casey Ryan, Greg Kennedy, Shane O Brien, Ciaran Mc Gettigan, Daragh Sheahan

Mary I ‘B’

Ian Lynskey, Peter Lane, Paddy Prender, Ronan Canavan, Enda Keena, Ronan Gibbins


Steven O Farell, Simon Hickey, Adrian Guerrero, Ciarain Murtagh, Paul Rooney, Howard Costelloe, Martin Regan, Frank Quinn, Brendan Fitzsimons

UL ‘A’

Nigel Stanley, Martin Deady, Enda Joyce, Alan Quill, Robert Phelan, Paul Walsh, David McGrath


Rory Gaffney, Darren Mc Geever, John O Connor, Timmy Kuku, Pierce Duffy, Ray Winters, Kevin Crehan, Peter Dravins

UL ‘B’

Liam Duffy, Vicente Ortuno, Javier Lopez, Guillen Kallis, Carlos Aparicio, Thomas Thornton, Nick Gallwey, Kevin Costello, Anthony O Carroll, Kevin Mc Carron

UL (6) Mary I (1)

Martin Deady 4, Alan Quill 2

Darragh Sheean 1

UL B (1)Mary I B (0)

Anthony O Carroll

GMIT (5) NUIG (2)

Damien Mc Geaver 1, Timmy Kuku 1, Ray Winters 1, Kevin Crehan 1, Peter Dravins 1

Steven O Farell 1, Adrian Guerrero 1

UL (3) UL B(3)

Nigel Stanley, Martin Deady, Alan Quill

UL B – Javier Lopez, Gillian Kallis, Kevin Mc Carron

Mary I (2) GMIT (8)

Robbie Lannon, Ciaran Mc Gettigan

Rory Gaffney 5, Darren Mc Geaver 2, Kevin Crehan

Mary I B (3) NUIG(7)

Peter Lane 2, Ronan Gibbons

Simon Hickey 2, Ciaran Murtagh 2, Paul Rooney, Howard Costelloe, Brendan Fitzsimons

UL (4) GMIT(1)

Rory Gaffney

Nigel Stanley, Martin Deady 2, Alan Quill

UL B (2)NUIG (3)

Guillen Kallis, OG

Adrian Guerrero, Ciaran Murtagh, Brendan Fitzgibbons

Mary I (5) Mary I ‘B’(7)

Greg Kennedy 2, Enda Keenan, Leon Casey Ryan, OG

Ian Lynskey, Paddy Pender 2, Ronan Gibbons, Ronan Kanavan 2, Ciaran Radcliffe

UL (8) NUIG (3)

Martin Deady 3, Alan Quill 3, Paul Walsh 2

Simon Hickey, Adrian Guerrero, Ciaran Murtagh

Mary I ‘B’ (1)GMIT(2)

Ronan Canavan

Darren Mc Geaver, Rory Gaffney

Mary I (2) UL B(7)

Darragh Sheean, Robbie Lannon

Vincente Ortuno, Kevin Mc Carron 2, Guillen Kallis, Kevin Costello, Javier Lopez 2

UL (11) Mary I ‘B’(2)

Paul Walshe 3, Martin Deady 4, Alan Quill, Nigel Stanley, David Mc Grath, Robert Phelan

Ian Lynskey, Enda Keena

Mary I (1) NUIG(5)

Shane O Brien

Steven O Farell, Adrian Guerro, Ciaran Murtagh, Paul Rooney, Howard Costelloe

UL B (4) GMIT (3)

Javier Lopez 3, Guillen Kallis

Rory Gaffney, Ray Winters, OG

UCD Futsal Report

Drogheda Institute of Further Education caused a surprise today in UCD when qualifying for the CUFL National Finals. A strong UCD squad lead by Irish Futsal Captain Mark Langtry started strong with a 4-0 win over ITT Dublin but failed to build on that win. Last years finalists ITT Dublin had no luck on the day and were beaten in three of their games.

For photos of the event click here

UCD 4 ITT Dublin 0
UCD Scorers: Mark Langtry (2), Tyrone McNelis, Stephen Doyle.

IT Carlow 2 Senior College Dun Laoighaire 0

Scorers: Mick Foster, Paddy Carey.

ITT Dublin 1 Drogheda Institute 2

Scorers: ITTD: Jacques Molley. Drogheda: Donal Callan, David O’Brien.

UCD 1 Senior College Dun Laoghaire 3

Scorers: UCD: Brian O’Brolchain. SCD: Shane O’Hannigan, Sean Flood, James Murray

IT Carlow 1 Drogheda Institute 2

Scorers: ITC: Mick Foster. Drogheda: Michael McDonnell, Donal Callan

Senior College Dun Laoghaire 3 ITT Dublin 5

Scorers: SCD: Sean Flood (2), Shane O’Hannigan. ITTD: Olumide Ojogbede (3), Jordan O’Ruadh, Sam Osho.

UCD 2 IT Carlow 4

Scorers: UCD: Danny Fallon, Paul Curtin. ITTC: Dean O’Buaire (2), Paddy Carey, Ben Ryan.

Senior College Dun Laoghaire 2 Drogheda Institute 3

Scorers: SCD: Fergus McCarthy (2). Drogheda: Chris Feehan, Michael McDonnell, Lee Kavanagh.

IT Carlow 5 ITT Dublin 2

Scorers; Nick Foster, John Yeates, Dean O’Buaire, Ben Ryan (2). ITTD: Karl Kearns, Sam Osho.

UCD 1 Drogheda Institute 1

Scorers: UCD: Mark Langtry. Drogheda: Ciaran Hand

Team Pld W D L F A GD Pts
Drogheda Inst 4 3 1 0 8 5 3 10
IT Carlow 4 3 0 1 12 6 6 9
UCD 4 1 1 2 8 8 0 4
Senior College D 4 1 0 3 8 11 -3 3
ITT Dublin 4 1 0 3 8 14 -6 3


UCD: John Kelly, Mark Langtry, Barry McCabe, Daniel Fallon, Tyrone McNells, Gary O’Toole, Brian O’Brolchain, Paul Curtin, Stephen  Doyle

ITT Dublin: Conor Hogan, Adam Cullen, Olumide Ojogbede, Emmet Byrne, Karl Kearns, David Vickery, Jordan O’Ruadh, Sam Osho.

Senior College Dun Laoighaire: Chris Howard, Shane O’Hannigan, Sean Flood, Ethan Doyle, Darren Forsythe, James Murray, Graham Watts, Fergus McCarthy, Mark O’Neill, Barry Davis

IT Carlow: David Cummins Connolly, Nick Foster, John Yeates, Dean O’Buaire, Nicky Cosgrave, Paddy Carey, Ben Ryan, Colm Cunniffe.

Drogheda Institute of Further Education: Stephen Murphy, James Boland, Ciaran Hand, Chris Hand, Chris Feehan, Michael McDonnell, Donal Callan, Lee Kavanagh, Rob Ruddy, David O’Brien.

« Go Back