geraghty wonder strike enough for dcu against dife

17 February 2011

A James Geraghty goal for DCU and a Man of The Match performance from goalkeeper Ben Dale ensured DCU 'B' overcame Drogheda Institute of Further Education in todays CUFL Division Two Final at Phoenix FC.

For photos from the game click here

Dublin City University “B” 1-0 Drogheda Institute of Further Education (James Geraghty 22mins)

Phoenix FC, Scribblestown was the venue for the CUFL Second Division Final yesterday afternoon (February 17) following the change of venue from Ballymun United as a result of continued adverse weather conditions.With just over twenty minutes played, James Geraghty secured the honours for the University after a screamer of a shot from the edge of the box glided the ball into the top corner leaving Stephen Murphy stranded on his goal line.

Moments before the magically goal, Drogheda had a gilt edged opportunity missed after an heroic save by Ben Dale denied the onslaught of Lee Kavanagh and David Connolly. DCU had a great chance to double their lead on 49 minutes as Dillion Corbett produced some fancy footwork to deceive Ciaran Hand and James Boland before releasing a shot past Keeper Stephen Murphy. The finish was inches away as the ball nicked the post and sailed agonising out over the endline.

Four minutes later, Drogheda’s Chris McDonnell launched an excellent shot on goal from distance with the ball swirling past a multitude of defenders on route to goal, Dale’s vision was impaired with the goal line action but he got down well to push the ball wide. Drogheda had shouts for a penalty when Lee Kavanagh collided with keeper Ben Dale with just ten minutes remaining, but referee Malcahy Doyle shook his head and the direction the ball went from the challenge was just enough reason to give the official the benefit of doubt. Drogheda’s Robert Duddy was thrown on with eight minutes remaining but the tall talisman couldn’t convert any of the chances awarded to him.

Man of the Match Ben Dale was presented with his accolade by UMBRO representative Tony O’Sullivan following the presentation as his heroics on the goal line ensured the victory for DCU. Terry McAuley was on hand to present the Cup to Captain Garry Donohoe much to the delight of the following party.

DCU “B”: Ben Dale, Garry Donohoe (Capt), Premeh Mastek, Daniel Costello, Kevin Keely, Philip Kavanagh, Cian Murray, Robbie Gaul, James Geraghty, Dillion Corbett, Ray Kelly

Subs: Dennis Kealy, John Brennan, Greg Engel, Devon Flynn, Stephen McCann, Andy Oregan, Oisin Daly

DIFE: Stephen Murphy, James Boland, Ciaran Hand, Chris Feehan (Capt), Graham Reilly, Chris McDonnell, Donal Callan, David O’Brien, David Connolly, Lee Kavanagh, Greg Leahy

Subs: Robert Ruddy, Andrew Farrell, Jamie King, Des Reenan, Cormac Murtagh

Referee: Malcahy Doyle (Dublin)

« Go Back