ul make it four premier titles in a row

25 March 2011

University of Limerick made it four WSCAI Premier Division titles in a row tonight with a 4-2 win over IT Sligo at Terryland Park Galway.

For photos from the game click here: 

UL signalled their intensions when winger Jenny Critchley had a shot after just 50 seconds which was well saved by Sarah Finnerty. Three minutes later it was 1-0 to the holders. A mazy run and cut back by Jenny Critchley was finished expertly to the net by Premier league top goalscorer Lynsey McKee. Shortly after it was almost 2-0 when Jenny Downeys shot from 16 yards was well saved by the busy Finnerty.

However IT Sligo started to get into the game and were rewarded when a clumsy tackle from Siobhan O’Sullivan on Orla Devanney ended up with a penalty for Sligo and a booking for O’Sullivan. Deirdre O’Doherty stepped up to send Laoise O’Driscoll the wrong way with a perfectly taken penalty.

Both sides had further chances to score before UL went 2-1 up. Julie Ann Russell intercepted a kick out and went on a run that beat four players before she cut back for Downey to slide into the corner past Finnerty.

Ul started the second  half strongly with a great run and cross from Russell which was narrowly headed over by Fahy. Fahy volleyed just over three mins later and Jenny Critchley was narrowly wide. They went 3-1 in front though on 64 mins when a great through ball from Susan Critchley put Downey in and while the Sligo players claimed offside her first effort was brilliantly saved by Finnerty, Downey reacted quickest to score her second of the game.

Russel l made it 4-1 in the 70th minute with another great run and superb low finish into the corner of Finnertys net.

IT Sligo refused to give up and Doherty had a free kick well saved by O’Drioscoll and then scored her second penalty of the night after Karen Duggan had fouled in the area. Doherty went close again on 76 mins by O’Driscoll was again equal to her effort. A great UL moved almost yielded a fifth with McKeys low strike hitting the post.

In the 88th min another Doherty free kick was well saved by UL goalkeeper O’Driscoll but time ran out for Sligo and University of Limerick went home deserving winners of another WSCAI Premier League title.

UL Premier Champs

University of Limerick: Laoise O'Driscoll,Jennie Brennan, Lorna O'Connell,Siobhan O'Sullivan, Karen Duggan, Susan Critchley, Jenny Critchley (capt), Ruth Fahy, Lynsey McKey, Jenny Downey, Julie-Anne Russell. Subs: Alice Heath for McKee (86mins), Nicolette Miller for Downey (84mins)

Institute Of Technology, Sligo: Sarah Finnerty, Kim Flood, Amy Gerrity, Caroline Ormsby, Sarah McMoreland, Hazel McCafferty (capt), Maria Harrington, Roisín McCafferty, Deirdre Doherty, Orla Devanney, Lucy Hannon. Subs: Gillian Igoe, Grainne Grimes, Ailish Leonard, Anna Grant, Siobhan Scott, Aine Hannon for Geraghty (74mins), Kathryn O'Sullivan for McMoreland (73mins)

Referee: Mark Lynch, Assistants: Brian Lynch, Pat Barry

« Go Back