dcu clinch wscai national futsal cup

27 January 2012

DCU clinched the WSCAI National Futsal Cup with a well-earned 3-1 victory over hosts IT Sligo in a high level final on Friday.

For more see http://www.facebook.com/WSCAI
In a tournament that showcased the rising standard of female futsal in this country, the Dublin side emerged victorious.
The final was a real thrilling battle with Rachel Graham giving DCU an early lead after three minutes when she found the net with a snap shot.
DCU captain Becky Walsh produced a brilliant second goal for her side two minutes later with an excellent low strike.
IT Sligo reacted quickly and Deirdre Doherty made it 2-1 in the seventh minute with a snap shot after excellent work by Aileen Gilroy.
The hosts battled hard to get an equaliser but eventually they were caught on the break and Cliodhna McHugh made it 3-1 after good set-up play with Amy Ryan.
Inchicore goalkeeper Jade Corrigan was named player of the tournament.
Corrigan had produced a string of brilliant saves to keep her side in contention.
Other players to stand out include DCU's Becky Walsh and Amy Ryan, IT Sligo's Kim Flood, Aileen Gilory and Deirdre Doherty, Inchicore College's Clare Kinsella and UCC's Zoe Murphy and Michelle McNally.
DCU: Lynn Dowling; Becky Walsh, Rachel Graham, Orlagh Murphy, Michelle Watson, Amy Ryan, Cliodhna McHugh.
IT SLIGO: Emma Cullen; Amy Roddy, Aileen Gilroy, Kim Flood, Sarah-Louise McMoreland, Anna Grant, Maria Harrington, Roisin McCafferty, Deirdre Doherty, Annie Lynskey.
INCHICORE COLLEGE: Jade Corrigan; Michaela Kavanagh, Clare Kinsella, Ashling Dent, Emma Gregg.
UCC: Katie Hannon; Niamh Foley, Patrice Kearney, Zoe Murphy, Yvonne Cahill, Clare Cooney, Sarah Clune, Michelle McNally.
WSCAI National Futsal Finals 2012                          
IT Sligo    2     1     Inchicore College
UCC         2     4     DCU
IT Sligo    2     2     DCU
Inchicore College 0     1     UCC
DCU         4     1     Inchicore College
IT Sligo    3     0     UCC
Semi Finals
DCU         2     0     Inchicore College
IT Sligo    0     0     UCC
(IT Sligo won 3-1 on pens)
Plate Final
Inchicore   3     4     UCC
WSCAI National Futsal Cup Final
DCU         3     1     IT Sligo

« Go Back