holders it carlow see off ucd for place in cufl semi finals

01 February 2012

There were wins for DIT, Athlone IT and Letterkenny IT in todays Premier Division games. LIT, IT Carlow B and IT Blanchardstown were winners in Division One, with Drogheda Institute and IT Carlow 'C' were winners in Division Two.

UMBRO CUFL Premier Division Round Up

Two second half goals from Barry O’Mahony put holders IT Carlow through to this year’s CUFL Semi Finals after an entertaining 2-1 win over three time champions UCD in IT Carlow today. 2007, 2008 and 2010 winners UCD were leading 1-0 at half time after a 16th minute header from Sean Buckley.

2009 Finalists Letterkenny IT made the long journey to Waterford and came away with an emphatic 3-0 win with goals from AJ Lehane (o.g.), Oisin McMenamin and Luke O’Farrell.

Semis Finalists for the last two seasons University of Ulster Jordanstown had home advantage but were beaten 4-1 by an excellent Athlone IT. Kevin Dunne, Stephen Relihan, James Morrissey and Enda Morris scored for Athlone with John Keane getting the UUJ consolation.

2010 Finalists DIT made home advantage pay with a 3-0 win over Cork IT with goals from Paul Malone, Roberto Lopez and Eoin Kavanagh.

The semi final pairings are as follows: Letterkenny IT v Athlone IT, IT Carlow v DIT

CUFL Premier Division Quarter Finals

IT Carlow 2 (Barry O’Mahony 2-1pen) University College Dublin 1 (Sean Buckley)

Dublin IT 3 (Paul Malone, Roberto Lopes, Eoin Kavanagh) Cork IT 0

University of Ulster Jordanstown 1 (Paul Keane) Athlone IT 4 (Kevin Dunne, Stephen Relihan, James Morrissey Enda Morris)
Waterford IT 0 Letterkenny IT 3 (AJ Lehane OG, Oisin McMenamin, Luke O'Farrell)

CUFL First Division Quarter Finals

Dundalk IT 1 (Harry McCarthy) Limerick IT 2 (Colin Scanlon, Dean McNamara)

IT Carlow 'B' 8 (Pierce Donnachie 5, Eric Molloy, George Bell, Michael Mullen)
GMIT Castlebar 0

Sallynoggin College of FE 1 (Shane Doyle) IT Blanchardstown 3 (Jordan Nolan 3)

Galway Technical Institute vs Senior College Dun Laoghaire (02/02/12 at 14:00) Venue: Mervue United Grounds, Galway

CUFL Second Division Quarter Finals

Cork IT 'B' 1 (Kieran O' Mahoney) Drogheda Institute of FE 1 (Gareth Toal) Drogheda won 3-0 on pens
Dundalk IT 'B' 1 (Emmet O Brien) IT Carlow 'C' 3 (Darren Costello, Robbie Farrell, Dean O’Ruairc)

Trinity College 'B' vs Dun Laoghaire College of FE (02/02/12 at 14:00) Venue: College Park, Trinity College

Inchicore College vs NUI Maynooth 'C' (02/02/12 at 14:00) Venue: VEC Terenure

« Go Back