pearse college capture historic first cufl division three league title

27 February 2012

Two goals from man of the match Gareth Edwards were enough to see off Colaiste Ide C in a thrilling CUFL Division Three League Final at the magnificent Oscar Traynor Centre today.

For photos from the game click here

Pearse got off to a great start going one up after 23mins when Edwards superbly volleyed home from outside the penalty area after a shot was blocked. Ide got back into the game with a penalty scored by Jack Reilly in the 32nd minute after good observation by the officials.

Pearse had a chance to go ahead just before the break but Neill Heffernan’s penalty crashed off the crossbar.

A tight second could have gone either way but Edwards got on the end of a great Shane Jenkinson pass to chip Jason Farrell in the Ide goal.


Colaiste Ide ‘C’: Jason Farrell, Liam McCue, Graham Kane, Mark Campbell, Shane Taffe, Mark McGrath, Lewis Duffy, Jack Reilly, Dylan Sweeney, Gerard Flanagan, Lee Monahan. Subs: Mark Sheridan, Daniel McCarthy, Craig Byrne, Paul Hanson, Craig Dempsey.

Pearse College: Dylan Cottuli, Mark Byrne, Shane Jenkingson, Mark Fitzpatrick, Alex Foley, Neill Heffernan, William McMahon, Steve McDonnell, Gareth Edwards, Kevin Fox, Correy Davidson. Subs: Alex Dolan, Jamie Lee Connor, Dean Leddin, Keith Kenna, Daniel Mc Guiness

Referee: Adam Conroy. Assistants: John Thornton and John O’Toole.

« Go Back

Warning: include(C:\inetpub\wwwroot\third/templates/templates_c\%%3D^3DC^3DCDF9F0%%right-column.tpl.php) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in C:\Program Files (x86)\smarty\libs\Smarty.class.php on line 1869

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening 'C:\inetpub\wwwroot\third/templates/templates_c\%%3D^3DC^3DCDF9F0%%right-column.tpl.php' for inclusion (include_path='.;C:\Program Files (x86)\smarty\libs') in C:\Program Files (x86)\smarty\libs\Smarty.class.php on line 1869