it blanchardstown claim cufl division one title

27 February 2012

Colin Hawkins and Bobby Ryan’s IT Blanchardstown side took the CUFL Division One Title with a hard fought 1-0 win over IT Carlow ‘B’ in Tullamore on Monday night.

For Photos from the game click here

In an excellent game of few chances Darren Kehoe turned Jordan Nolan’s cross into the net after 22 mins, following a corner.  After another corner for Blanchardstown, Nolan’s curling shot was superbly pushed around the post by IT Carlow keeper Gary Neville. Carlow’s best chance came after 50 minutes when top scorer Pierce Donachie got in and went around Blanchardstown keeper Jake Rossiter but he hit the side netting.

John Yeates went close for Carlow but his effort went just over the bar and five mins later Yeats’ cut back to Robert Sweeney almost forced and equaliser but Sweeney was off target. Man of the Match Jordan Nolan should have put Blanchardstown two up but after a good run he was stopped by the excellent Neville for Carlow.

Blanchardstown had Paddy Brophy to thank time and time again as he was outstanding at the heart of their defence throughout the game and ran Nolan close for the man of the match award.


IT Carlow’B’: Garry Neville, Craig Shortt, Connor O'Keefe, Alan Last (Captain), Martin Kehoe, John Yeates, Ronan Doherty, Robert Sweeney, Lee Quaye, Joe Sunderland, Pierce Donnachie. Subs: George Bell, Michael Mullen, Carl Grehan, Conor Keddy, Shaun O'Donnell, Damien Locke, Stephen Watters.

IT Blanchardstown: Jake Rossiter, Conor Moloney, Ian Whelan, Paddy Brophy, Patrick Murphy, Paul Butler, Andrew Grehan, John Harrington (captain), Darren Kehoe, Jordan Nolan, Alan Cosgrave. Subs: Diarmuid Byrne, Niall Byrne, Yusuf Muibideen, Ayuba Salaubeen, Dami Kusigbagbe, Nestrao Obinna Ezidinma, Thomas Condon.

Referee: Michael O’Connor. Assistants: Alan Dunne, Kevin Conroy.

« Go Back