drogheda institute claim cufl div 2 in nine goal thriller

28 February 2012

Drogheda Institute edged out IT Carlow C to claim the UMBRO CUFL Division Two Title in a nine goal thriller at Peamount United FC today.

Drogheda were on top early on and went ahead on nine mins when Cormac Renaghan’s run on the left set up Cormac Murthagh to beat Karl Doherty in the Carlow goal. It didn’t take Carlow long to get back on terms when Bobby Tier finished a Nick Foster cross to the back of the net six mins later. Donal Callan put Drogheda 2-1 with a great strike after Seery had done well to block after 25 mins. Five mins later Colm Barron put Carlow Level from a penalty after Foster was fouled in the box. DJ Flynn hit the bar for Carlow coming up to half time and Robbie Farrell went close for but Christopher Hagan made an excellent save, while at the other end Callan went close with a cross shot that almost went in.
The second half began and it was all Carlow with DJ Flynn scoring after a defensive mix up on 54 mins and three mins later a free kick on right from Foster was headed to the net by the unmarked Tier for his second and it looked like Carlow were on their way to winning. However Droheda had other ideas and after a corner kick was cleared off the line by Alex McCann,  full back Andrew Hickey volleyed powerfully to the back of the net after 58mins. Three mins later Drogheda were level with a great pass from Callan to Renehan who ran on to it and faked to hit it but went around the keeper for an exquisite finish to make it 4-4. Chris McDonnell put Drogheda 5-4 up with five mins to go after a great run by and cut back by Man of the Match Renaghan.

After tasting defeat in last years Final against DCU it was a perfect finish for Rob Cosgrove and Martin Spain’s boys.

Christopher Hagan, Andy Hickey, Stephen Kilcoyne, Luke Haggins, Garreth Toal (captain), Donal Callan, Stephen Mc Donnell, Cormac Renaghan, Cormac Murtagh, Christopher Mc Donnell. Subs: Ciaran Guildea (for Renaghan 89), Gary Furlong (for Callan 89), James Boland, Damien Grimes, David O Brien (for Stephen McDonnell 86)

IT Carlow 'C': Karl Doherty, Gary Smith, Alex McCann, Gary Seery, Nicky Pilbrow, Colm Barron, Sam Doran, Bobby Tier, DJ Fylnn, Robbie Farrell (captain), Nick Foster. Subs: Nicky Cosgrave (for Doran 75), Dean O'Ruairc (for Foster 55), Kevin McLaughlin (for Smith 86), Fola Majoyegbe (for Fylnn 75), Yomi Augboye, Paul Miley

Referee: Eddie Reilly. Assistants: Shay Travers, Tommy Traynor

« Go Back