dit lift cufl umbro premier division title

14 March 2013

Second half goals from Aaron O’Dwyer and Sam Simpson gave DIT their first-ever Colleges and Universities Umbro Premier Division title in an enthralling decider against DCU at Tolka Rovers FC.

CUFL Umbro Premier Division Cup Final: DCU 0 DIT: 2

DCU found themselves a man down on 40 minutes after Rory Dunleavy was sent off for a second yellow card by referee Paul Tuite.

Early in the second half the ten men went behind after Aaron O’Dwyer beat goalkeeper Ben Dale, after Ryan Matthews had lobbed a high ball into the box that Gavin McArdle could only partially clear.

Stephen Traynor and David Brick went close as DCU tried their best to get back on terms, but in the closing minutes substitute Sam Simpson sealed the win with a long range effort.

DCU: B Dale, M Logan, D Gaul, G McArdle, R Gaul, R Dunleavy, D Mahon, S Traynor, M Isichei, D Lodola, P Kavanagh. Subs: P O’Driscoll for Kavanagh 46 mins; D Brick for Lodola 46; D Aherne for Mahon 81.

DIT: N Cooney, C Dowd, R Matthews, R Lopes, N Cooney, P Malone, D Soon, E Murray, J Conroy, T Smullen, A O’Dwyer. Subs: D Higgins for Smullen 83; S Simpson for Soon 83; S Crowe for Dowd 89; C Smith for Murray 90.

REFEREE: P Tuite (Dublin)

« Go Back