ucd win 2014 umbro cufl premier title

18 February 2014

UCD lifted the Colleges and Universities Premier League title for the fourth time in the competitions eight year history with a 2-0 win over IT Carlow in the decider in Frank Cooke Park tonight.

A goal in each half courtesy of Dean Clarke and Cillian Morrison clinched the win for the Belfield outfit.

UCD dominated the opening exchanges and were unlucky not to score in the first minute when Robert Benson rounded the Carlow goalkeeper, but his shot was too weak to beat the retreating defenders.

Carlow came agonisingly close to going ahead in the twenty-second minute, but Eric Molloy's shot from twenty yards out was blocked by his own team-mate Dean Broaders as the ball arrowed towards the top right-hand corner of the net.

Carlow were left kicking themselves three minutes later when UCD took the lead through star striker Dean Clarke. The Arts student got under a bouncing ball on the edge of the penalty area and lobbed it over the head of advancing IT Carlow goalkeeper Seamus Houghton.

Clarke came close to doubling his sides lead on the half-hour mark after a fine through ball from Benson, but he was denied brilliantly by the feet of Houghton.

Carlow very nearly scored an equaliser on the stroke of half-time, but Molloy's shot on the edge of the box soared inches over the crossbar.

Morrison scored the goal that gave UCD a real sense of security for the last twenty minutes of this thrilling final. Clarke again played a key role in the goal, and it was his beautiful cross that found Morrison who had the simple task of tapping the ball in from close range.

IT Carlow: S Houghton, N Haverty, J Dermody, R Kenny, S Last (C), A Humphries, E Molloy, S Dunne, D Broaders, S Skelly, A Mulligan. SUBS: C O'Keefe (Last 73); T Croke (Dunne 77); M Kelly (Broaders 86); G Bell (Molloy 86).

UCD: M McGinley, N Wright, C Butler, T Boyle, T Dent, R Murray, C Morrisson, T Molloy, D Clarke, R Benson, S Belhout (C). SUBS: T O'Halloran (Murray 70); C Cannon (Morrison 83).

Referee: R Glynn (Dublin).

« Go Back