umbro cufl match day one roundup

10 October 2014

Premier Division holders UCD were beaten 1-0 by cross-city rivals DCU on the opening day of the Umbro Colleges and Universities Football League, thanks to a goal from Alan O'Sullivan on the stroke of half time.

In Maynooth the home side went 1-0 down thanks to a stunning Roberto Lopez strike for DIT but two excellent goals from Jamie McGrath, a Niall Lanigan penalty and one from Muhanned Bukhatwa saw the
2014 Collingwood Cup winners home safely.
IT Sligo dominated for the first hour against Trinity College with goals from Dylan McCabe and Allesandro Puerinni for the visitors, but Trinity fought back and could have won it in the end but goals from Brian O'Reilly and Niall Barnwell saw both the promoted sides share the points.
In Premier South last season's runners up IT Carlow travelled to UCC and at 2-1 down UCC missed a penalty and the visitors dominated the rest of the game to run out comfortable 6-2 winners. IT Carlow goals came from Dean Broaders (2), Eric Molloy, Andy Mulligan and Rob Slater with Cian Hill and Evan Brown scoring for UCC.
UL got off to the most impressive start with a stunning 8-0 over Cork IT. Garbhan Coughlan got five with Aidan McGrath, Oisin McMenamin and Eoin Roache completing the rout against a Cork side who avoided relegation last season in the play off.
In the final Premier Division game Athlone IT travelled to Waterford IT and were happy to come away with a point in an exciting game, Sean Hurley and Conor Coad getting the goals for the home team, Jimmy Fallon and Sean Brennan scoring for the visitors.
UMBRO CUFL Matchday Two Preview
In matchday two the standout game is on Tuesday when University of Limerick host IT Carlow in what promises to be a cracker while in Premier North DCU host fellow week one winners Maynooth University on Wednesday. UCD travel to IT Sligo needing a win to get back on track, but the hosts know that a win will almost certainly see them into a quarter final for the first time.

UMBRO CUFL Results Matchday One
Premier Division North
Trinity College Dublin 2 IT Sligo 2
Maynooth University 4 Dublin IT 1
Dublin City University 1 University
College Dublin 0
Premier Division South
University College Cork 2 IT Carlow 6
Waterford IT 2 Athlone IT 2
University of Limerick 8 Cork IT 0
Division One Group A
IT Blanchardstown 7 Air Corps 0
Colaiste Ide 0 Dundalk IT 1
Division One Group C
IT Tralee 0 Limerick IT 1
Colaiste Stiofain Naofa 5 Mary Immaculate College 1
Division One Group D
Sallynoggin College of FE 1 Pearse College 3
National College of Ireland 1 ITT Dublin 2
Division Two Group A
LIT-Tipperary 2 University of Limerick 'B' 0
University College Cork 'B' 1 Cork IT 'B' 3
Cork College of Commerce 6 Waterford IT 'B' 0
Division Two Group B
Maynooth University 'B' 1 GMIT Galway 'B' 0
IT Sligo 'B' 4 GMIT Mayo Campus 1
Division Two Group C
Colaiste Ide 'B' 0 Dublin IT 'B' 1
O'Fiaich Institute of Further Education 1 IT Blanchardstown 'B' 2
Division Two Group D
IT Carlow 'C' 3 Inchicore College 0
Trinity College 'B' 7 Bray Institute of Further Education 2
Division Three Group A
Cavan Institute 4 Athlone IT 'D' 1
Moate College 3 Maynooth University 'D' 0
Division Three Group B
University College Cork 'C' 1 Waterford IT 'C' 2
Division Three Group C
IT Carlow 'D' 2 Carlow Institute of FE 1
St Patrick's College, Carlow 3 IT Carlow - Wexford 1
Division Three Group D
Dublin IT 'C' 3 Dun Laoghaire IADT 6
National College of Ireland 'B' 2 Griffith College 2
Division Three Group E
Mater Dei College 1 Dublin City University 'C' 0
Dundalk IT 'B' 3 Athlone IT 'C' 1
Royal College of Surgeons 0 Maynooth University 'C' 7

« Go Back