waterford it retain futsal crown

22 January 2016

Waterford IT made it two-in-a-row on Wednesday in the CUFL National Futsal Finals which were held in the South-East campus.

The hosts jumped out of the blocks fast and ruthlessly dispatched of Maynooth University by four goals to nil. Athlone also hit the ground running with back-to-back victories over IT Carlow and inflicted another heavy defeat upon Maynooth. The defending champions hit a stumbling block in the fourth game when Carlow put it up to them. The pressure of retaining their title appeared to have broken them as Carlow grabbed a late winner in a feisty encounter. The Carlow men then raised the stakes in their next match by eventually seeing past Maynooth. Going into the final group game against the undefeated Athlone, knowing only a win was enough, Waterford attacked from the off and got their reward as they raced into an early lead and quelled a potential revival from AIT to win 3-1.

This set up the final between the two (WIT and AIT) which did not disappoint in an action-packed encounter played at breakneck speed. Waterford took an early lead before Athlone equalised going into half-time. Waterford then took the lead again to put them in the driver seat. Athlone will be devastated that they spurned chance after chance to equalise once more. With the challengers running out of ideas, Waterford justified their right to be called champions once more as they broke late on and ended the contest with a third goal, once again defeating their midland rivals 3-1. There were jubilant scenes from the winners as they celebrated their victory while Athlone will look back later with some pride in their performances with Jason Lyons being voted the player of the tournament as he notched 6 goals. Waterford will now hope to be able to attend the European games this summer in Croatia

Waterford IT: S. Fitzgerald, E. Doyle, I. Sinnott, A. O'Connor, S. Nolan, B. Duffy, J. Goodison, C. Coad, C. Breslin, M. Walker, N. McCabe - Manager: P. O'Brien,

Athlone IT: D. Owens, C. Bruce, M. Mohammadi, S. Junaid, R. Alade, J. Moloney, C. Reddan, S. Cerioni, J. Lyons, C. Gallo, H. Sholola, S. Abiola - Manager: D. Dully

IT Carlow: D. McGarry, M. Keeley, J. Smith, E. Rogers, S. Dunne, I. O'Brien, U. Ivkovic, R. Ryan, E. O'Neill, A. McAlavey - Manager: C. O'Keeffe, Coach: E. Molloy

Maynooth University: D. Newsome, E. Murphy, K. McManus, D. Kavanagh, K. Keogh, S. O'Keeffe, S. Watkin - Manager: G. Kinsella

Referees: D. Berry, A. Patchell, M. Patchell, C. Cimpoesu

« Go Back

Warning: include(C:\inetpub\wwwroot\third/templates/templates_c\%%3D^3DC^3DCDF9F0%%right-column.tpl.php) [function.include]: failed to open stream: Permission denied in C:\Program Files (x86)\smarty\libs\Smarty.class.php on line 1869

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening 'C:\inetpub\wwwroot\third/templates/templates_c\%%3D^3DC^3DCDF9F0%%right-column.tpl.php' for inclusion (include_path='.;C:\Program Files (x86)\smarty\libs') in C:\Program Files (x86)\smarty\libs\Smarty.class.php on line 1869