coleraine win crowley

13 March 2016



Three first half goals paved the way for Ulster University Coleraine to comfortably overcome fellow northern side St Mary's University College Belfast in the Irish Universities Crowley Cup Final at Queens University Belfast.
The more experienced Coleraine boys proved too strong for their opponents and although St Mary's did managed to pull a goal back with around 20 minutes remaining they failed to push on and Coleraine deserved their third Crowley Cup win in four years.

Steven O'Neill had Coleraine in front on 22 minutes when he got on the end of a great right wing cross from Ryan Burke to beat St Mary's 'keeper Jay Deeny from close in.

Player of the tournament Chris Crowe double their advantage ten minutes before the break grabbing his third goal in three games after Kyle McCauley's high ball into the St Mary's area fell kindly for him.


The game was put more or less out of sight for St Mary's on the strike of half time when Sean McEvoy beat Deeny for a third Coleraine goal. Ryan Gibbin set it up with his cross to the far post and McEvoy was on hand to apply a cool finish.
Substitute Seamus Girvan was only on the pitch for a couple of minutes when he made his presence count by pulling a goal back for the Belfast side with 20 minutes remaining.

But despite lots of pressure as the Coleraine side began to feel the effect of playing their third game in three days they managed to hold out for a deserved victory.


ULSTER UNIVERSITY COLERAINE: Stephen O'Neill; Jonny Wildsmith, Michael Lynch, Kyle McCauley, Jordan McArtney; Sean McEvoy, Ryan Burke, Bobbie Crowe, Ryan Gibben; Chris Crowe, Steven O'Neill.
Subs: Riccardo Quattromoro (for O'Neill 72 mins), Peter Wildsmith (for Gribbin 82 mins), Ben Greer (for McArtney 82 mins), Dale Long (Crowe 82 mins), Paddy Rice, Tom Higgins.

ST MARY'S UNIVERSITY COLLEGE BELFAST: Jay Deeny; Ruairi Wilson, Danny Wallace, Conor Cassidy, Paul McKenna; Dag Dierke, Neill McNicholl, Jordan McLaughlin, Tiernan Maguire, Leo Donaghy; Conor McGuigan.
Subs: Declan Gregory (for McGuigan 30 mmins), Seamus Girvan (for Maguire 65 mins), Sean McCullagh, Mathew Campbell, Michael Rice, Conor McCabe, Michael Mullan.

Referee: Steven Taylor. Assistants: Joseph Wilson, James Campbell.

« Go Back