Women's Soccer Colleges Association of Ireland

UL claim Futsal Intervarsity Cup 2008/2009

UL claim Futsal Intervarsity Cup 2008/2009

24 November 2008

108 players participated in this year's Futsal Intervarsities, hosted by University of Limerick on Sunday last the 23rd of November

University of Limerick Captain Richael O'Brien accepted their second Futsal Cup title in three years at the expense of what seemed an undefeatable Sligo IT team.

Futsal Cup Winners

University of Limerick - Futsal Intervasities Cup Winners


Plate Winners

CCFE - Futsal Intervarsities Plate Winners

The 14 teams were drawn into two groups of 7, each team playing each other once in a 10 minute game. From both groups 1st and 2nd position continued through to the cup competition, 3rd and 4th to the plate competition. For full results and tables from the competition please click here. Loads of action shots and team photos also available in our photo gallery


Conceding only 3 goals in their 6 group matches, IT Sligo A team emerged top of Group 1. With UL A team only one point behind, their only defeat of the group stages at the hands of the Sligo girls. Positions for the Plate competition in group 1 was closely contested. Mary Immaculate losing out on a plate position on goal difference. Athlone IT only needed a draw in their final game to continue to the plate but the Trinity A team proved unstoppable, with a 3 - 0 victory. A high scoring CCFE team finishing ahead of Trinity on 10 points to claim the second plate position.

Belfast Metropolitan College undefeated topped Goup 2 and it was the UL B team that completed the line up for the Cup semi finals. Last year's futsal plate winners CIT took 3rd position in Group 2. The Sligo IT B team took the final plate position on 8 points.

In the Plate Semi Finals CCFE ended the run of the Sligo IT B team with a 3 -1 win, Trinity beating CIT in a closely contested affair. One goal enough to put Trinity through to a Plate final. In the Cup Semi Finals, Sligo IT A slotted 3 past a UL B team that had only conceded 1 goal through all the group stages. UL A proved too strong for Belfast Metropolitan, winning 3 - 1 to end the Belfast girls unbeaten run.

The plate final had all the thrills of a hard fought, closely contested final. CCFE had to come back from an early Trinity lead, leveling the score to 2 - 2 in the final minute of the game. It was the sudden death penalty taken by CCFE's Laura Thompson that sealed their first plate Futsal Intervarsity win.

Having defeated their opponents in the group stages, Sligo IT A were favorites going into the Cup Final. From the kick off it was clear the University of Limerick girls had learned from their group stage match and a free flowing final of some quality football was on display.

It was a solid all round effort from the UL A team that won the Cup, Lorna O'Connell and Richael O'Brien slotting 2 goals past what seem an impenetrable Sligo goal. They also managed to frustrate the Sligo IT attack that had previously succeeded to score in every game up to the final game.


Player of the Tournament: Hannah Tyrrell, Trinity College Dublin



Trinity College Dublin A: Aine Burke, Hannah Tyrrell, Molly Whikman, Kathleen Seahin, Andrey Santtons, Julia Bronihard, Anne - Marie Haynes, Laura - Ann Lambert, Leeanne Duignan

Trinity College Dublin B: Mikaela Kotschack, Isobet Scally, Samantha Hewith, Jenna Zellmer, Sarah Porter, Racheal Gardner, Hannah Nic Phindin, Catheryn Ward, Megan Copper

University Of Limerick A: Laoise O' Driscoll, Siobhan O Sullivan, Lorna O Connell, N Mulcahy, Jenny Critchley, Rachelle O Brien, Lynsey McKey, Sarah Considine

University Of Limerick B: Sarah Stack (c), Sarah Crotty, Catherine Power, Sarah Kiely, Ruth Fahy, Jenny Downey, Jackie Mulligan, Ciara Murphy, Deirdre Cremins

Sligo IT A: Noelle Gormley, Hazel McCafferty, Annie Lynskey, Patricia Coyle, Claire Egan, Elaine O Reilly, Aine Gormley

Sligo IT B: Emma Cullen, Ailis Leonard, Gemma McDonaghm Gillian Igoe, Tara McHugh, Grace Ronayne, Sandra Costello

Cork Institute of Technology: Caroline O' Neill, Philomena Frisbee, Louise Daly, Joanne O Brien, Valerie Leahy, Maria Morrison, Lorna, Mary McDonnell

Belfast Metropolitan: Rachel Cromie, Keeva Keegan, Nadene Cauldwell, Gemma Quigley, Sarah Ross, Samantha Fleming, Pauline Larkin, Demi Vance

University College Cork A: Mags Fitzgerald, Denise Leahy, Carla Daly, Kate Murray, Helena Walsh

University College Cork B: Alison Roche, Eimear Feerick, Catherine Hayden, Louise O' Dowda, Courtney Sirak, Nikki Murphy

CCFE: Ciara Meehan, Ciara Murphy, Laura Thompson, Kathleen O' Brien, Ciara Desmond, Deirdre Cotter, Adrienne Wheatley, Stacey Paul, Amanda Parkes, Emma Hanley

Galway Mayo Institute of Technology: Lorraine O Connor, Laura Hanrahan, Lorraine Coen, Louise Kennedy, Sharon Kenny, Christine McCuteheon

Athlone Institute of Technology: Allyson Young, Henrietta Walsh, Ruth Finlas, Aisling Egan, Catriona Dolan, Lisa Guinane, Marian Murray, Silvia Nolino, Violetta Casello, Orla Cawley.

Mary Immaculate: Callie Rennison, Siofra Kennedy, Alison Tuite, Laura Brennan, Mary Barret, Niamh Cooke, Aoife MacCarthy and Joanne Cussen.





« Go Back

Sponsored By