Women's Soccer Colleges Association of Ireland

Irish Combined Colleges Keele International Cup Squad Announced

Irish Combined Colleges Keele International Cup Squad Announced

04 July 2011

Details of the squad selected for the Irish Combined Colleges team which will travel to partake in the Elite Women's Competition of the Keele International Cup on Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th of July has been announced.

The squad return to Keele looking to build on the success of capturing the Eilte Plate title last year, seeing off the challenge from strong Everton, Blackburn and Mosley Hill teams along the way.

In their third successive year, the management of Emma Martin, Eoin Killackey and Maz Sweeney announced a squad that sees the return of just two of last years plate winning team, Sinead Leahy CIT and Anna McCormack DCU.  However it is undoubtedly a squad of players who have impressed throughout the college year, with no less than 11 Premier and First Division All Star Players awards amongst them.  This coupled with the experience of others suchs as Aisling Egan Athlone IT and Linda Douglas UCC, both previous premier all star recipients, completes a squad that the management have confidence can go all the ways in this years Cup Competition.

There are eight colleges and universities represented within the squad with a notable absence of the Premier and Intervarsity winners University of Limerick, who are busily preparing to take part in the European Universities Futsal Championship which takes place in Finland July 17th-24th.

Extended trials and training sessions for the squad commenced after the Interprovncial tournament held last November and attendence and competition for places on the squad was very strong.

Irish Combined Colleges Keele International Cup 2011
Athlone IT Aisling Egan
Athlone IT Catriona Dolan
Athlone IT Sinead Taylor
CIT Sinead Leahy
CIT Georgina McKeown                       
CIT Susan Donovan                                
DCU Anna Mc Cormack
DCU Becky Walsh
IT Sligo Sarah Finnerty
IT Sligo Maria Harrington
IT Tralee Jennifer Lyttle
UCC Linda Douglas
UCC Yvonne Cahill
UCC Eimear Knightly
UCD Sonja Murphy
UCD Catherine Cronin
WIT Maria Delahunty
WIT Clare Conlon



Emma Martin, Eoin Killackey & Maz Sweeney


CCFE Erika O'Sullivan
DKIT Grace Murray
IT Sligo Lucy Hannon
IT Sligo Orlaith Devaney
UCC Zoe Murphy
UCD Shona Hanlon
« Go Back

Sponsored By