Women's Soccer Colleges Association of Ireland

IT Sligo Win WSCAI Futsal Intervarsities For The First Time

23 March 2013

IT Sligo, winners of the WSCAI Premier League title on Tuesday, completed a great week for the Westerners by claiming the WSCAI Futsal Intervarsities for the first time.

Photos from the Finals: http://www.flickr.com/photos/32562142@N06/sets/72157633065955245/

Lead by Manager Emma Mullin the Sligo girls topped their group with three wins and then beat Athlone IT and IT Carlow, with captain Roisin McCafferty lifting her second cup in four days.
The final was a thrilling affair with IT Carlow throwing everything at McCafferty from the start and could have been out of sight. The Carlow side were twice ahead but two goals in a minute from hat-trick hero Geraldine McLaughlin put Sligo 4-2 up. Claire O'Riordan got a goal back but time and energy ran out for Carlow, who played their sixth game of the day with just five players.
An Alanna Murphy goal was enough for Maz Sweeney's Athlone IT to beat 2010 winners UCC in an excellent Plate Final.
UCD beat Mary I 3-0 in the 5th/6th Place Play Off, with Cork IT beating NUI Maynooth 1-0 in the 7th/8th Place Play Off.
Top scorer on the day was Geraldine McLaughlin (IT Sligo) with seven goals; Colleen Bouchard (UCC) got six, with Deirdre Doherty (IT Sligo) and Claire O'Riordan (IT Carlow) getting five each.

Cup Final
IT Sligo 4 IT Carlow 3
Plate Final
Athlone IT 1 University College Cork 0
5th/6th Place Playoffs
University College Dublin 3 Mary Immaculate College 0
7th/8th Place Play Off
Cork IT 1 NUI Maynooth 0

Cup Semi Finals
IT Sligo 3 Athlone IT 1
University College Cork 2 IT Carlow 2

Group A Results
University College Dublin 0 vs IT Sligo 3
IT Carlow 3 vs Cork IT 0
University College Dublin 2 Cork IT 0
IT Sligo 4 IT Carlow 2
University College Dublin 0 IT Carlow 1
IT Sligo 3 Cork IT 1
Group B Results
Athlone IT 0 University College Cork 0
NUI Maynooth 1 Mary Immaculate College 3
Athlone IT 2 Mary Immaculate College 0
University College Cork 5 NUI Maynooth 0
Athlone IT 2 NUI Maynooth 2
University College Cork 2 Mary Immaculate College 0

« Go Back

Sponsored By